White
    2000 Camaro Z28

My first Dyno Questions?

Hi to everyone, this is my first time posting in here so please be patient with me. Yesterday I have a Comp cam installed in my 2000 Z28. I was exited the technician toll me that the car gain 58 horsepower with just the cam, valves and lifters. The dyno tune was done in a loader dyno. I was dissapointed when he did the pre test with out the cam and the car made 258 horse power, that included the fallowing Pacesetter long tube headers, slp air lid, K&N filter, flow master. When they installed the cam the car was 316 HP, please some one tell me why the numbers was so low. The technician mention that he use 3000 pound of resistance on the dyno. The car feel very fast and that same night I won against a 350 Z loaded with headers and a few more modifications. I heard that dyno loaders always give you low numbers? My nest installation is a 3500 converter.

On your ass flashing
    my highbeams

Putting in lifters in our cars requires removing the heads, were the heads taken off? What are the specs on the cam? Is the car currently on the stock stall? The tuner probably can't lock the stock converter with the power you are making (making it read lower). Yah those #'s seem low and no dyno is the same, the best way to test it is to take it to the track and post up the times.

White
    2000 Camaro Z28

Thank you c5z28 to take the time and trying to help me out. This is what the cam specs say, Duration @ .050 Intake 220 Exhaust 220
    Lobe lift .3420 .3420
    lobe separation 112.0
    The part number 54-000-11
    The technician change valve spring and something else I have to check the list, they call it a cam kit. Sorry but I love the car but I am not that good on the technical part. The car has the factory stall, Thats my next move I am going to install a stall converter 3500 in the next 10 days. Do you have any Idea in which area I am on horsepower?

On your ass flashing
    my highbeams