Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: HP vs Torque!?!

JOSEY FUCKING WALES! Frankthetank's Avatar

Black
    2000 &2002 Z28

HP vs Torque!?!

I know this is gonna sound like a retarded beginners question.....
    But what is the difference between Horsepower and torque?

I understand torque, that it is the power to push ur car off the line, and its what gets you down the track.....

But what is the point of horsepower?

TSP Rumbler, LT's, TSP Tqr2, PRC 921 Springs, Comp Lifters, Chromoly 7.4" Pushrods, Titanium Retainers/Seats/Seals, ARP head bolts, BMR full Rear suspension

"I could break a bowling ball with a plastic hammer in a sandbox"

2000pontiac6
    I always thought more torque = better off the line and hp like kept you going or something not exactly sure

Pewter
    1999 Camaro SS-M6 #1775

im not an expert at this, but find out what RPM your TQ drops off at.. and next time you go out and race your car, shift at that RPM and i bet you Quarter time will drop ALOT. genrally the faster your motor turns over then the more HP you have, TQ is just getting it to Turn over. its gives a nice lowend for driving on the street, but when your drag racing your mostly way up in the power band after the TQ drops off, idk if i expressed this the way i wanted to but hopefully this helps

2000pontiac6 is right about take off from the line ( if you take off from a lower RPM) you may get a better launch if you launch from you max TQ's RPM. ( considering you have the drive train to handle it)
    1999 Camaro SS/ Pewter/ #1775 - LS1 6-speed - Predator 3 Custom Tune - Pro 5.0 - LS7 Clutch - 3.90's - Koni's - Strano Springs and Sway Bars - SFC's - Full UMI Chassis and Suspension - LS6 Intake PnP TB - ARH LT's and Kitty Ran Away - Magnaflow.

12.6 at 112

http://www.fquick.com/Tyler_LS1

Silver
    1998 Pontiac Trans Am

Quote Originally Posted by Frankthetank View Post
    I know this is gonna sound like a retarded beginners question.....