Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Road race, auto x, rally in an A4

This is a discussion on Road race, auto x, rally in an A4 within the Road Racing / AutoX forums, part of the Racing Forums category; Anyone here ever do any road racing, auto X or rally with an A4 f-body. Not fond of the transmission ...

Road race, auto x, rally in an A4

Anyone here ever do any road racing, auto X or rally with an A4 f-body. Not fond of the transmission in mine, but it was a steal and at only 2800miles I could pass it up just to wait for a M6 to come alone.

Just looking for suggestions on how to deal with it....perhaps a good computer tune or other "driver strategies"?

On your ass flashing
    my highbeams

I'm a beginner but autocrosing I just leave it in second I haven't really had to shift yet. Road racing that's another story are you looking to put shocks in it?

Quote Originally Posted by c5z28 View Post
    I'm a beginner but autocrosing I just leave it in second I haven't really had to shift yet. Road racing that's another story are you looking to put shocks in it?
    I'll prpbably upgrade the brakes and the shocks...but thats a whole other issue.

So you acutally auto X in just 2nd gear, I actually haven't tried one yet, but I watched one last fall and it seemed the course was so short and tight that you would hardly get to any speed requiring 2nd gear...I'm told that is the norm for auto X around here.

But I am curious if you stick you auto tranny in "1" or "2" or even "3" for that matter can you over rev it and damage it?? My winter beater has a safety feature, it forces upshifts just before the red line even when the shifter is put into a low gear, that way it saves the engine...I guess alot of people race them that way as well. But does the F-body also do this, or will it hold the gear to infinity and blow itself up?

Impounded

79 T/A -91 Firebird
    1998 Trans Am -Oynx Black

Ive had mine at almost 80ish MPH in second. It will stay in second

On your ass flashing