Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Six less ricers in Charlotte

This is a discussion on Six less ricers in Charlotte within the Drag Racing forums, part of the Racing Forums category; Originally Posted by SouthernBornThriller Saw this on the news the other day...and was damn glad to see it. I'm a ...

Hugger Orange/W stripes
    1999 Z28 M6

Quote Originally Posted by SouthernBornThriller View Post
    Saw this on the news the other day...and was damn glad to see it.

I'm a student at UNCC myself and have had a few run-ins with them in the parking deck and university area since buying my Camaro last year. The times I had to be on campus any later than 8pm...it became a real hassle to get out of there in one piece and at the speed limit. And yeah, they do turn stretches of 485 into makeshift drag strips late at night.

You mentioned the closing of Shuffletown...and I fully blame it for the street racing issues we have in the area today. It used to be cool to go to the strip on weekends and race, but since they built those houses and apartments, and people were smart enough to move next door to a drag strip and complain about noise...all we have left is Mooresville. And well, ricers aren't quite as welcome in redneck Nascar country as they are around a college campus.

While the new drag strip in Concord is awesome...I dont think it will do a damn thing for the street racing problem we have. I've been in touch with these guys. Going to a drag strip and paying a track fee is lame and boring. They'd much rather have the adrenaline rush of going 140 on a highway, dodging cops and traffic. No highway fee either.

It's no longer cool to race at the strip to these idiots. If anything, they'll race more as a slap in the face to Concord Dragway.

That's cool to see a young guy like yourself understanding that! Good for you.