1 of 396 T/A Conv 2001 Wayah-bird's Avatar

Taupe/Red
    2001 Trans Am Conv

Tire pressure confirmation

Most everyone on LS1 knows this already but I have read a few threads about tires riding better at 35 PSI or similar. I was curious and e/mailed Goodyear, and received a call from 'Todd' in customer service today. He said that there would be 'center line' excessive wear if regularly kept at 35 PSI if the door panel says 30 PSI. He said that 1 or 2 pounds over would be no problem or insignificant. The max tire pressure on the sidewall should have NO BEARING (even on the new 50+ max pressure ratings). Keep it at 30 PSI if that is what the door panel says. Just some info for anyone that can use it. No need to wear out the tires any faster than 'normal'.

White
    1997 Camaro Z28

im no expert, but i do believe that it does depend on the tread and Size of the tire before you just say all tires should be run at 30 psi.

my 315's dont like 30psi.........they will "center line" as you put it..........even at that, they wear evenly at 22psi.

but i know they can be different for different tires/compounds

my et streets wear nice at 15psi

plus i would love to see someone autox their car at 30psi (but i know you meant DDing)

White with silver stripes
    2000 Trans Am WS6

i had 275/35/17 bfg drags at 20 psi. the wear was perfect but they dont last long on a daily driver
    00' ws6, custom paint, bolt on's and bolt in's.. http://www.fquick.com/garages/viewvehicle.php?id=11454

white
    1999 Trans AM 30th anniv.

i would say todd was probably correct on stock tires on stock wheels,the width of wheel & tire change how much pressure is required,anything over 30 is going to ride rougher,lower rides better but you loose you cornering ability because sidewall will not hold up as good

Burgundy
    2000 TA