Paint

This is a discussion on Paint within the Appearance Section forums, part of the General Help category; Ok the front of my car was just painted now i have a slight difference in color from panel to ...

silver
    2002 ws6 ta convertible

Paint

Ok the front of my car was just painted now i have a slight difference in color from panel to panel. In the spring i was wanting to polish and buff the rest of the car so what i want to know is what should i use or do any suggestions would be great im just a little lost on this. I have herd that clay bar might be my best bet but never have used it and dont know if this is what i need. Just want to try and make the other panels match a little better to the newly painted panels.

Pewter
    2002 WS6 TA

Hiya..,

I will start by saying i am no expert, but i have had a very similar situation in the last few weeks.

I heavily scraped my front bumper and needed some plastic welding along with a full strip , prime and base/clear to bring it back and it is a perfect match, happily.

I am not sure if it was my bodyshop going the extra mile but although the whole of my car is original paint, their mix to the paint code was a shade or three out in there trials and so they got in a gizmo called a spectrometer or a spectrograph or something like that and "read" my current paint to mix it up for a great match. I wonder how your shop did yours as a mis-match may have to remain...... but as i said i am no paint expert and somebody like Ryan may chime in with their thoughts!

Not a huge help i realise but i thought i'd put it out there!

Trev... )

silver
    2002 ws6 ta convertible

Quote Originally Posted by speedyws6 View Post
    hiya..,

i will start by saying i am no expert, but i have had a very similar situation in the last few weeks.

I heavily scraped my front bumper and needed some plastic welding along with a full strip , prime and base/clear to bring it back and it is a perfect match, happily.