Black
    2002 Camaro SS

A Little Help with Disassembly and Painting

At the end of the month when I put my car away for the winter I am going to do a bunch of painting in the engine bay compartment. To most people on here some of the things I am asking for some guidance on may seem easy but I have never done them before. I checked the sticky's in multiple sections but I couldn't find the answer, if there is one feel free to post the link.

Can you help me out with instructions on removing the valve covers? I am taking them off and painting them wrinkle black and painting my coil brackets red. I already have all the painting instructions just need help with valve cover removal.

I am also going to paint my SLP lid and lid base. How the hell do you get that thing off??? Do you just take the MAF sensor off with it? Also when painting the base do you take the base off the car or leave it on and mask off everything around it?

I am also going to paint the bumper support but that seems pretty straight forward to take off.

11 years of bangin gears cammed goat's Avatar

Phantom Black Metallic
    2004 GTO M6

You can take the MAF off the intake bellows in order to remove the lid and lower airbox. As far as the valve covers, I don't know what size the bolts are, but the valve covers come right off once you remove all the bolts.

Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban