Results 1 to 17 of 17

Hood/Heat Extractor lights

This is a discussion on Hood/Heat Extractor lights within the Appearance Section forums, part of the General Help category; Ok so I want to do the hood lights on my TA and since I've got the WS6 style hood ...

  1. #1
    Army Dude robcas47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ft. Rucker Area, Lower AL
    Posts
    674

    Arctic White
    01 TA / 06 Duc 749D

    Hood/Heat Extractor lights

    Ok so I want to do the hood lights on my TA and since I've got the WS6 style hood with heat extractors I am wanting to route the lights to both front nostrils and to both heat extractors. I plan on using amber lights to give off the impression of a fire under the hood. What I am wanting to do is have the lights always on but at a dim setting and to progressively get brighter in sync with the rpm's and to dim as well. I am not sure but I think another member has done this before and so I'm wondering how it was pulled off. If not does anyone have any ideas? I was thinking of a window switch type setup but then there is probably a smarter way. I've asked this on both tech and a local Fbody board but didn't get as much help as I hoped. I know there's got to be an electrical guru out there that can figure this out.

  2. #2
    intimdator gotws6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    greenville sc
    Posts
    305

    black
    1998 transam ws6

    i have no idea. but thanks for your service! my son is in the army ft leonard wood.

  3. #3
    Army Dude robcas47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ft. Rucker Area, Lower AL
    Posts
    674

    Arctic White
    01 TA / 06 Duc 749D

    Quote Originally Posted by gotws6 View Post
    i have no idea. but thanks for your service! my son is in the army ft leonard wood.
    No problemo, hope your son enjoys Army life as much as I do.

  4. #4
    Army Dude robcas47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ft. Rucker Area, Lower AL
    Posts
    674

    Arctic White
    01 TA / 06 Duc 749D

    Soooo any one got a suggestion/idea/refrence....
    I tried the search too but the can only find the install sticky.

  5. #5
    Sold: LS1 '85 El Camino ls1camino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Laurel, Maryland
    Posts
    4,977

    2000 Grand Prix GTP
    2000 Trans Am WS6 M6

    The one way I could think to do it would be to hook the power side of the lights to Throttle Position Sensor (TPS).

    The computer uses that sensor to monitor how far open the throttle is, and I'm not sure what kind of damage would be done if you started tapping power from that wire.

  6. #6
    Army Dude robcas47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ft. Rucker Area, Lower AL
    Posts
    674

    Arctic White
    01 TA / 06 Duc 749D

    Quote Originally Posted by ls1camino View Post
    hook the power side of the lights to Throttle Position Sensor (TPS).
    I'm not sure what kind of damage would be done if you started tapping power from that wire.
    This is what I was worried about. I initially thought I could easily splice into the wire that sends the signal to the RPM tach on the dash. But then I thought it might weaken the signal and give a false reading.

    When you hook up and after market tach with shift light do you just rewire to go only to the tach or are you able to keep both working? If you can keep both without any issues then I may be able to go that route since the signal seems to increase/decrease in strength the way I want it to do with the lights.

  7. #7
    Sold: LS1 '85 El Camino ls1camino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Laurel, Maryland
    Posts
    4,977

    2000 Grand Prix GTP
    2000 Trans Am WS6 M6

    Quote Originally Posted by robcas47 View Post
    This is what I was worried about. I initially thought I could easily splice into the wire that sends the signal to the RPM tach on the dash. But then I thought it might weaken the signal and give a false reading.

    When you hook up and after market tach with shift light do you just rewire to go only to the tach or are you able to keep both working? If you can keep both without any issues then I may be able to go that route since the signal seems to increase/decrease in strength the way I want it to do with the lights.
    When you wire up a tach, you tap into the signal wire that goes to one of the coil packs from the PCM. Then on the aftermarket tach, you tell it how many times per revolutions that coil fires. So for the LS1 engine, which has 8 coils for 8 cylinders, each coil pack fires 1 once every two revolutions, and the tach goes by that. The coil pack also has a separate 12V wire that is always hot and only fires the spark plug when the signal tells it to, so there is no interruption in the spark.

    The TPS is different, it's going from the sensor TO the PCM, and requires a certain current to measure the opening of the throttle.

  8. #8
    Army Dude robcas47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ft. Rucker Area, Lower AL
    Posts
    674

    Arctic White
    01 TA / 06 Duc 749D

    Is the stock tach wired up the same way as an aftermarket? Will it work tapping into te signal wire or is it back to the drawing board?

  9. #9
    ʢ ൧ ൨ ൩ ൪ ൫ ൬ ൭ ൮Ր Ց Ւ Փ Smittro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    9,965

    White
    2008 Hummer H3

    IMHO, what you need to maybe simplify things is a voltage regulating switch with a rotating contact.. LIKE the one used for the TPS rather than tapping the sensor wires. All you would then need to do is figure out a way to rotate it with the throttle. A ground wire could be ran down to the hood hindge. Just my oppy and a way I'd think of doing it.. You could possibly go to radioshack and ask them for a 12v varible voltage switch..
    Last edited by Smittro; 10-28-2010 at 10:15 PM.
    :\Users\Steven\Pictures\d6ftg5nh.gif


    Suggestion: If you are particularly irritated by another member's posting habits and are constantly fighting the urge to flame them, you can click on that person's profile, and select "Add to ignore list." This will make that person's posts invisible to you.

  10. #10
    Army Dude robcas47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ft. Rucker Area, Lower AL
    Posts
    674

    Arctic White
    01 TA / 06 Duc 749D

    That's a fresh idea, Thanks. I'll look into it, not sure how or what to hook it up to as far as a rotating component. There's plenty to choose from.

  11. #11
    Member nichoLaS1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Charlotte
    Posts
    330

    Sunset Orange
    '01 SOM ws6

    Somehow my Pioneer CD player in my jeep can read the RPMs and displays a fake tach on it..Unfort I don't know exactly where it is drawing the signal from, but if I can figure it out, I'll let you know.. doing something similar would prevent you from having to tap into any important wiring..

  12. #12
    Army Dude robcas47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ft. Rucker Area, Lower AL
    Posts
    674

    Arctic White
    01 TA / 06 Duc 749D

    G-Tech makes a perfomance meter that can read your tach just from pluging it into the lighter. Not sure how this is possible but they meake it work, I want one just for shits and giggles.

  13. #13
    Electrical Engineer KMdef9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    North of the Motorcity
    Posts
    2,611

    Custom Swirly Black
    2001 WS6 M6

    Quote Originally Posted by nichoLaS1 View Post
    Somehow my Pioneer CD player in my jeep can read the RPMs and displays a fake tach on it..Unfort I don't know exactly where it is drawing the signal from, but if I can figure it out, I'll let you know.. doing something similar would prevent you from having to tap into any important wiring..
    Quote Originally Posted by robcas47 View Post
    G-Tech makes a perfomance meter that can read your tach just from pluging it into the lighter. Not sure how this is possible but they meake it work, I want one just for shits and giggles.
    These horribly inaccurate readings are read from vibrations I believe.

    This will probably be a difficult task no matter which way you approach it. Smittro's idea of attaching some sort of voltage restrictor onto the throttle body would be very interesting. The only hard part would be finding a resistance wiper that would somehow attach to it without interfering with the rest of the components. I'm sure it exsists, as there are millions of eletrical components out there. Also, that signal would have to be low voltage driven, unless you find components that are electrically guarded from everything, b/c the voltage source will be at the throttle body and this can propose obvious dangers. If it's low voltage driven, the signal would then have to be amplified to drive the lights, even if LED lights are used.

    It would almost seem easiest to tap into the RPM signal, then amplify it to power the proper amount needed to drive the lights. No mechanical parts needed and should be the safest way to approach this. Just need to find a 12V signal amplifier for your application.

  14. #14
    Army Dude robcas47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ft. Rucker Area, Lower AL
    Posts
    674

    Arctic White
    01 TA / 06 Duc 749D

    Quote Originally Posted by KMdef9 View Post
    It would almost seem easiest to tap into the RPM signal, then amplify it to power the proper amount needed to drive the lights. No mechanical parts needed and should be the safest way to approach this. Just need to find a 12V signal amplifier for your application.
    This was my initial appraoch to the idea but not sure if it will interfere with the correct readout of the RPM gauge. I'll look into to getting it done this way or might try sound activated leds and just stack them accordingly.

  15. #15
    Electrical Engineer KMdef9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    North of the Motorcity
    Posts
    2,611

    Custom Swirly Black
    2001 WS6 M6

    Quote Originally Posted by robcas47 View Post
    This was my initial appraoch to the idea but not sure if it will interfere with the correct readout of the RPM gauge. I'll look into to getting it done this way or might try sound activated leds and just stack them accordingly.
    It shouldn't interfere with it, since you'll have to use an amp circuit to drive the lights, the the current draw should be minimal.

    And...

    When a new tach is hooked up to a car, it doesn't drag the stocker down. A new tach works with an amp circuit, so I'd imagine the stocker does as well. So, it shouldn't effect it.

    If you try and hook up the lights directly to the tach line, it probably wont fire the LED's too well (unless your only hooking a few of them) and also may have an effect on the tach read out in the car.

  16. #16
    Army Dude robcas47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ft. Rucker Area, Lower AL
    Posts
    674

    Arctic White
    01 TA / 06 Duc 749D

    Ok thanks a lot KMdef9, I think I'll go that route and post results when I can get this done. Now I've got to read up on this amp circuit and find one that will work with what I've got planned.

  17. #17
    Electrical Engineer KMdef9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    North of the Motorcity
    Posts
    2,611

    Custom Swirly Black
    2001 WS6 M6

    Quote Originally Posted by robcas47 View Post
    Ok thanks a lot KMdef9, I think I'll go that route and post results when I can get this done. Now I've got to read up on this amp circuit and find one that will work with what I've got planned.
    Not a problem. Please post the results and hope it turns it out well for you.

    Also, radio shack is good for that kind of stuff and if you have any other further questions, let us know.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. New mod - Free engine bay heat extractor
    By smasher in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-20-2011, 07:56 PM
  2. A/C Heat back lights
    By j nix in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-28-2010, 04:32 PM
  3. Question: Anyone have Heat Extractor Hood
    By Mike's TA in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 11-25-2008, 11:28 PM
  4. single extractor hood
    By thisisthewayilive in forum Camaro / SS
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-24-2008, 08:32 PM
  5. Question: 4 port Heat extractor hood
    By JTUCK in forum Camaro / SS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-26-2008, 09:24 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •