Black
    1998 Trans Am

Need some painting tips.

Hope this is in the right section.

I made a deal with a friend of mine that if I did some front end work on his car he would paint the spoiler and front ground effect on my Trans Am. I did the work on his car 3 years ago and my parts are still the wrong color.

Anyway, I've decided to just do it myself but I have a couple of questions.

1. What is the best way to strip the old paint off of fiberglass and do I have to strip it all the way down? (Rear Spoiler)

2. What is the best way to strip the paint off of urithane. (Front Lip)

3. I also need to fix a the corner of the spoiler where it was runbbed down during shipping, so I will have to add just a bit of material to it. being that the spoiler is fiberglass, can I use bondo? Or is there something that would work better?

4. How much paint should I buy to cover these two parts and do I need to prime them.

Any advice would be appreciated. I'm an auto body noob.

Visualize°Design°Create SSwt00SS's Avatar

'18 CTS-V
    '13 ZL1

Quote Originally Posted by Blksnshn View Post
    Anyway, I've decided to just do it myself but I have a couple of questions.

1. What is the best way to strip the old paint off of fiberglass and do I have to strip it all the way down? (Rear Spoiler)
    you dont have to 'strip' the paint completely off. you can sand down and scuff the paint, primer, block, primer, block, etc. this will help to fill any other imperfections in the process.

2. What is the best way to strip the paint off of urithane. (Front Lip)
    same process

3. I also need to fix a the corner of the spoiler where it was runbbed down during shipping, so I will have to add just a bit of material to it. being that the spoiler is fiberglass, can I use bondo? Or is there something that would work better?
    my preference is to match materials: use fiberglass

4. How much paint should I buy to cover these two parts and do I need to prime them.