Monterey Maroon Metalic
    2000 Z28

Fresh Paint Procedures?

Alright guys, I just got my car back from a brand spankin' new paint job (I will post pics later, I promise). I talked with the guy that sprayed my car and he said with a new paint job I should get some 3M Imperial Hand Glaze and go over the car very slowly and deliberately concentrating on one section at a time and apply 2-3 coats go fill in the wetsanded clear and get the swirls out. I assume it would be best to do this in the early morning while the car is cold.

All of that sounds good but what else should I do and when. This is my first time dealing with a new paint job and I want to take the precautions and steps to ensure it looks great for a long time.

I am so proud of my car now, it looks really good now (added VFN Sunoco hood, SS Spoiler, and some new badges).

00 TA PWTR, 98 VertTA NBM
    80 TA BLK, 80 Formula NBM

well ill tell ya what ive done in the past (ive sprayed and finished 4-5 cars with base clear). . . i guess it depends where they left off. i work my way up to 2000 grit wetsandin paper with a flexable block. . . then, yes, i use 3M brand rubbing/polishing compounds. do you have a buffer or can you get one? i cant remember the exact product name but i just used 2 stages, first one with a cottom pad, second with a foam pad. then i usually finish off with zymol cleaner polish/wax, or some sort of hand polish. im no means a professional painter/finisher, but my experience this works very well.

Monterey Maroon Metalic
    2000 Z28

Well, I should probably just invest in a buffer anyway. I'm at work now and I'm trying to make a good shopping list to get everything I need when I get out of here. I'm not sure where they left off at. There are some very fine swirls on the clear, it looks like a buffer was used.

I plan to apply the 3M IHG first thing in the morning while the car is cold in the garrage. How soon after applying this can I put on a coat of wax/polish?