Results 1 to 7 of 7

wiring an amp to the stock head unit

This is a discussion on wiring an amp to the stock head unit within the Stereo and Electronics forums, part of the General Help category; I want to wire an amp to the stock head unit i dont know where the remote wire is and ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Age
    31
    Posts
    12

    White
    2000 WS6 Trans Am

    wiring an amp to the stock head unit

    I want to wire an amp to the stock head unit i dont know where the remote wire is and do i need an adapter for the rca cables?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Norristown, PA
    Age
    36
    Posts
    151

    black
    RIP 02 Camaro SS

    just get a line level converter. Tap the rear speakers and add your rcas, will it work, yes.......will it sound good???

  3. #3
    dot COM EVL LS1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    GEORGIA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    548

    two tone
    2003 harley davidson f150

    i have a tsunami rc kit for sale. $20 shipped. it taps into the rear speaker wires and the remote wire to the monsoon amp. it allows you to run rc lines to your amp on a stock fbody. it will work and it will sound good. my two infinity perfect 10s in a fiberglass box outhit most 12" sub setups i've seen around here. i do have the ttop box for sale as well as the amp rack. pics can be seen at www.evlls1.com/transam.html

    i'd like $130 for the speaker box and the amp rack. pick up or meet in GA for pick up. can't ship the speaker box it weighs a lot.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Age
    31
    Posts
    12

    White
    2000 WS6 Trans Am

    Thanks but i figured out how to do the rca wires now i just have to find the remote wire behind the head unit so i can splice it and run it to the amp but i dont know which wire is which. It should be the blue wire but there are two of them.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Age
    31
    Posts
    12

    White
    2000 WS6 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by jimmy 2 times
    just get a line level converter. Tap the rear speakers and add your rcas, will it work, yes.......will it sound good???

    thats what i just did and it sounds great to me

  6. #6
    CHASEM mpdcnva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    WASHINGTON DC
    Age
    48
    Posts
    42

    SILVER
    2002 WS6 CONV

    does abybody know how to do away with the external amp to add a better amp so ican decide which speaker to use. is there a way other than tapping into the rear of the radio, and does anybody have the wiring diagram for the wires out of the rear of the radio???

  7. #7
    dot COM EVL LS1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    GEORGIA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    548

    two tone
    2003 harley davidson f150

    the remote wire can be found at the rear of the car, rear pass. quarter panel where the antenna goes. it's a brown wire.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replace door speakers with stock wiring and head unit?
    By slimjim1284 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-03-2010, 04:31 PM
  2. stock head unit wiring diagram?
    By pk222 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-14-2009, 03:15 PM
  3. Stock Head Unit Problems
    By McCool318 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-19-2008, 08:40 AM
  4. Wiring in new speakers directly to aftermarket head unit
    By 99bluebird in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-26-2007, 11:36 AM
  5. Stock Head Unit System or install custom head unit?
    By ibh182 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-16-2007, 10:43 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •