Results 1 to 5 of 5

Wiring amp to factory monsoon

This is a discussion on Wiring amp to factory monsoon within the Stereo and Electronics forums, part of the General Help category; Where can I run my amp wires through the firewall at? Where is the best place to tap in to ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    63

    pewter
    2000 SS

    Wiring amp to factory monsoon

    Where can I run my amp wires through the firewall at?

    Where is the best place to tap in to the speaker wire at with the converter. Ive heard you can tap into it right at the stock amp somewhere? Is that true? Plus where the heck is the pcm even at on these things? Passenger side by the firewall or where? I no dumb question but please help. Do you have to take the pcm out to get to the grommet?

  2. #2
    Member 02WS6dream's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Age
    34
    Posts
    668

    08 Mustang GT/CS Blue
    2002 Trans Am WS6 traded

    When i did mine, I drilled my own whole through the firewall on the drivers side and put a grommet in. Did the same thing with my new car. Much easier IMO than moving things and fighting with existing ones. Find a blank spot on the firewall and go for it!

  3. #3
    Member MnLS1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    SW Metro, MN
    Age
    34
    Posts
    220

    White
    1999 SS

    remove the computer, there are two 10mm bolts (i think). Eng. compartment, pass side firewall up top, behind it there is a nice whole with grommet, yes you can tap into the stock amp, look at the sticky on monsoon wire diagram.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Age
    54
    Posts
    464

    BLACK
    2000 Camaro SS

    What do you plan to use as your power source for the amp's remote-on connection? I can tell you first hand not to bother using the (+) speaker leads from the OEM head unit. That's what mine is hooked to now, but apparently, there is some small amount of voltage across these wires even when the OEM radio is turned off. As soon as I turn the key on, my amps power up, regardless of whether the radio is on or not.

  5. #5
    Senior Member bigrondownhiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Orange County, NY
    Age
    42
    Posts
    2,674

    Black
    1996 Camaro Z28 vert

    Quote Originally Posted by gfeller2006 View Post
    Where can I run my amp wires through the firewall at?

    Where is the best place to tap in to the speaker wire at with the converter. Ive heard you can tap into it right at the stock amp somewhere? Is that true? Plus where the heck is the pcm even at on these things? Passenger side by the firewall or where? I no dumb question but please help. Do you have to take the pcm out to get to the grommet?
    For the converter most people use the hatch speakers, they are full range. You could probably run your remote wire from the monsoon amp. Pass side near the pcm is the easiest place to run the power.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Monsoon wiring diag
    By matt333cars in forum New Member Introductions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-12-2008, 01:58 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-16-2007, 10:41 AM
  3. monsoon wiring
    By bdavies11 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-29-2006, 08:33 PM
  4. Monsoon Wiring and Amp?
    By raysz28 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-10-2006, 02:28 AM
  5. ???Monsoon wiring diagram???
    By 01m6BLUEconvSS in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-30-2005, 07:32 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •