Results 1 to 11 of 11

Wiring

This is a discussion on Wiring within the Stereo and Electronics forums, part of the General Help category; Hey guys whats going on? So today I was messing around on my Trans Am and I noticed that the ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member legacyy21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    60

    Black
    1999

    Wiring

    Hey guys whats going on? So today I was messing around on my Trans Am and I noticed that the previous owner still had wiring for a sub and an amp hooked up. I have a Rockford Fosgate p200.2 amp that I had gotten from my brother in law. So the power and ground wires right now are 8 gauge wires and on Rockford's website it recomends a 4 gauge wire would it not be smart to go ahead and use this 8 gauge wire or should i go out and get a 4 gauge wiring kit? Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Senior Member bigrondownhiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Orange County, NY
    Age
    42
    Posts
    2,674

    Black
    1996 Camaro Z28 vert

    I would get the 4 gauge wire. Don't want to risk a fire. What size fuse does your amp have?

  3. #3
    Electrical Engineer KMdef9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    North of the Motorcity
    Posts
    2,611

    Custom Swirly Black
    2001 WS6 M6

    The 8 gauge wire might not be enough to drive the amp, it may not work it at all. It depends on the amp, I ran 8 gauge for a 100watt amp for my front door speakers on previous vehicles.

    It might be good enough, but 4 is always a safe bet.

    How many watts is the amp and subwoofer?

  4. #4
    Junior Member legacyy21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    60

    Black
    1999

    The fuse size in the amp is a 30. I know that the amp is also throwing out 200 watts rms.

  5. #5
    Senior Member bigrondownhiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Orange County, NY
    Age
    42
    Posts
    2,674

    Black
    1996 Camaro Z28 vert

    Then it should be fine. My amp is the same rating and I have 8 gauge. Just run a 30 amp fuse up near the battery.

  6. #6
    Junior Member legacyy21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    60

    Black
    1999

    Alrighty sounds good! Thanks guy for the quick responses, I appreciate it!

  7. #7
    Junior Member legacyy21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    60

    Black
    1999

    Alright so I hooked it all up and it was all running but there was a weird smell, kinda smelt like something burning but didn't see any smoke or anything, do you think this could be from the ground and battery wires being an 8 gauge wire?

  8. #8
    Electrical Engineer KMdef9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    North of the Motorcity
    Posts
    2,611

    Custom Swirly Black
    2001 WS6 M6

    Quote Originally Posted by legacyy21 View Post
    Alright so I hooked it all up and it was all running but there was a weird smell, kinda smelt like something burning but didn't see any smoke or anything, do you think this could be from the ground and battery wires being an 8 gauge wire?
    Smell only when it's running? How old is the amp? Has been exposed the weather? What did you use as ground? Subs working?

    I would smell the vents/fans of the amp. Check the wiring, every inch if you can, to make sure there are now areas of exposed wire. If it didn't pop, it might only slightly be arcing if that's the case.

    Typically, if your under current, the amp should have a safety/protection circuit on it. Some amps even come with LED protection indicator.

    It's more likely it's a exposed wire or possible amp issue than wire size issue.

  9. #9
    Senior Member bigrondownhiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Orange County, NY
    Age
    42
    Posts
    2,674

    Black
    1996 Camaro Z28 vert

    ^^^I agree. 8 gauge should be able to handle 30 amps fine. If you feel the wires are they hot? Make sure the ground has a good clean connection.

  10. #10
    Junior Member legacyy21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    60

    Black
    1999

    Yeah the sub was working, but it is a pretty old amp, it was my brother in laws when he was in high school. I opened up the amp and took a look at the circuit board and there were some burn type marks on the circuit board so I'm guessing the amp is just shot.

  11. #11
    Electrical Engineer KMdef9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    North of the Motorcity
    Posts
    2,611

    Custom Swirly Black
    2001 WS6 M6

    Quote Originally Posted by legacyy21 View Post
    Yeah the sub was working, but it is a pretty old amp, it was my brother in laws when he was in high school. I opened up the amp and took a look at the circuit board and there were some burn type marks on the circuit board so I'm guessing the amp is just shot.
    If it smells bad too, I'd say so.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question: Anyone know anything about wiring an amp?
    By noxside in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 09-15-2008, 07:55 PM
  2. NEED 1/0 wiring kit
    By claytonr in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-19-2008, 05:50 PM
  3. NEED 1/0 wiring kit
    By claytonr in forum Parts Wanted / Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-19-2008, 10:46 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-16-2007, 10:41 AM
  5. Ftp Wiring Help!!
    By rx7nam in forum General Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-22-2007, 03:32 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •