Results 1 to 13 of 13

Where to Mount Amps?

This is a discussion on Where to Mount Amps? within the Stereo and Electronics forums, part of the General Help category; Hey guys, I just purcahsed my first car. 98 Z28 camaro and it came with a decent sound system. The ...

  1. #1
    ryanz400
    Guest

    Where to Mount Amps?

    Hey guys, I just purcahsed my first car. 98 Z28 camaro and it came with a decent sound system. The guy i bought them from just has them laying in the spot that comes down in the rear. I was wondering if any of you had mounted them up against the front of where it starts to dip down. Is the as tank in the way to do this? Have any of you done it before? Lets here some input. Thanks

  2. #2
    Rock-n-Roller White Rascal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    OHIO Go Buckeyes!
    Posts
    539

    Arctic White
    '07 Trailblazer LT

    This was my amp mounting solution...



    Since you have a Camaro it will have to be a little different. Check out my car's web site for details on the amp rack. If you don't think you can take on the project yourself stop by SubThump and see what Steve has to offer. Tell him the White Rascal sent you.
    The White Rascal SOLD
    Crank up the drums, crank up the bass,
    Crank up my Les Paul in your face!

  3. #3
    10 year lurker DrMilhouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Colorado
    Age
    41
    Posts
    2,119

    Black
    99 Z28

    Hey rascal, is that part of a milhouse box or is that the flap that was just a flap that steve did?

  4. #4
    10 year lurker DrMilhouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Colorado
    Age
    41
    Posts
    2,119

    Black
    99 Z28

    Oh, and to the thread starter, avoid the top of the hump and the back of the hump. You've got a gas tank under there, you don't wanna mount it there with screws. You can put a piece of wood under the carpet and mount the amps to the wood through the carpet that way, but it's in view of everything unless you've got tinted windows.

    You can check out my amps here: http://drmilhouse.home.comcast.net

  5. #5
    Rock-n-Roller White Rascal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    OHIO Go Buckeyes!
    Posts
    539

    Arctic White
    '07 Trailblazer LT

    Quote Originally Posted by DrMilhouse
    Hey rascal, is that part of a milhouse box or is that the flap that was just a flap that steve did?
    It's one of Steve's (megabaSS) Mega Flaps.

  6. #6
    Member Shpoone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Northglenn, Colorado
    Age
    53
    Posts
    399

    Black/Gold....Now Sold...
    10th Anny. Firehawk #001

    I just have one amp, and it's mounted up inside the space where the spare and jack are. There's a lot more space there than people realize.
    Not for a setup like White Rascal's of course...

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Age
    45
    Posts
    5

    Black
    2001 Trans Am WS6

    Since I haven't made 10 posts yet, I can't put the link here for my amp rack plans. WTF is up with that?

    I've got plans for my 4th gen amp rack. I can also print them for you at 1:1 full size and mail them to you (for a nominal fee of course)

    contact me for the link to the plans (unless I can make 10 posts today)

  8. #8
    Here's mine

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Valencia, CA
    Age
    36
    Posts
    12

    Phantom Black Metallic
    2005 GTO

    My friend built a box for his sub into that whole rear area and mounted the amps to that

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Age
    45
    Posts
    5

    Black
    2001 Trans Am WS6

    If you go to the forums section of BlackWS6 . com you can see my setup. I posted it in "The Pits"

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    midwest, usa
    Age
    53
    Posts
    14

    Blue
    1967 Firebird

    Amp reccommendations...

    I bought a custom autosound head unit and was wondering what would be the best amp to purchase. A friend said alpine 4 channel. I can only fit 8" subs in the trunk.

    Johnny Mac
    my67.net

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by Johnny Mac
    Amp reccommendations...

    I bought a custom autosound head unit and was wondering what would be the best amp to purchase. A friend said alpine 4 channel. I can only fit 8" subs in the trunk.

    Johnny Mac
    my67.net
    Not going to get into a brand war but for 8" subs that kick like hell
    check "soundsplinter" out . Just do a check on line they are built on a T.C.
    frame, pretty good excusion rate. Buy your subs first (assuming free air)
    because of the 8" then purchase your amp. And get a class "D" for powering the subs. MY .02
    Hawk
    2001 Firehawk looking
    for more power !

  13. #13
    ruff ruff rotwiler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    WA State
    Age
    51
    Posts
    481

    LT's, 3400 stall, FIPK,CB
    2002 Z28

    I like the old school amps for price now and power. Even though they are normally used or refurbished, I just picked up a old MTX 2150x(450 real watts rms) for $40 off ebay and they have them all the time(I am putting this in my other car or later will paint both and mount them in the Z28 and run 1 sub each, but would need better subs). I run 1 now in my car pushing 2 Memphis audio 10's and they boom. I have used this amp since 1999 and blew it out once, due to I connected a Infinity 12 and the car audio shop must have thought I was lying about the RMS of the amp, because it actually caught the 12 on fire the next day and blew the amp. Found out later the rms of the 12 I bought was only 200 watts, plus the peak of the amp is probably around 650 watts. Stay away from crap brands like Pyramid etc and the swap meet specials that say 2000 watts and they have a 20 amp fuse. For 1 8 or 10 you should be able to find a class D amp for cheap, like a MTX 250D etc. I just use MTX as a example due to it is the main amp I have used for years, before that I was using the old RF punch 45's and 75's.
    Last edited by rotwiler; 11-29-2005 at 10:18 AM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. help hiding amps
    By seweber in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-16-2010, 10:35 AM
  2. Using two amps?
    By Frankthetank in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-18-2007, 10:32 AM
  3. Need a good T56 (LS1) Stock Tranny mount & Torque arm mount..
    By 1slosnake in forum Parts Wanted / Trade
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-19-2006, 04:04 PM
  4. Need a good T56 (LS1) Stock Tranny mount & Torque arm mount..
    By 1slosnake in forum Parts Wanted / Trade
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-13-2006, 06:24 PM
  5. Rattling amps
    By fuelslut in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-16-2006, 02:17 PM

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •