Results 1 to 12 of 12

Using two amps?

This is a discussion on Using two amps? within the Stereo and Electronics forums, part of the General Help category; is it possibe to use 2 amps with a head unit that only has one set of rca jacks? Is ...

  1. #1
    JOSEY FUCKING WALES! Frankthetank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    College Station TX
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,873

    Black
    2000 &2002 Z28

    Using two amps?

    is it possibe to use 2 amps with a head unit that only has one set of rca jacks?

    Is there some kind of splitter?

    Im wanting to run 1 amp for all the speakers and 1 amp for the sub

    TSP Rumbler, LT's, TSP Tqr2, PRC 921 Springs, Comp Lifters, Chromoly 7.4" Pushrods, Titanium Retainers/Seats/Seals, ARP head bolts, BMR full Rear suspension

    "I could break a bowling ball with a plastic hammer in a sandbox"

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Chicagoland/Champaign
    Posts
    389

    Red
    '97 Z28 M6

    Quote Originally Posted by Frankthetank View Post
    is it possibe to use 2 amps with a head unit that only has one set of rca jacks?

    Is there some kind of splitter?

    Im wanting to run 1 amp for all the speakers and 1 amp for the sub
    Yes - just use a basic Y-cable. Keep in mind you will lose some voltage -- but it will not split 4V pre-outs to 2V per line now...it is still close to 4V, minus about 4.5-5.5%. They are in parallel so voltage across is the same, however once you account for internal resistance, that is the loss (approximately). Still though, the higher the pre-out V the better - I wouldn't do this with a pre-out less than 2V.

  3. #3
    JOSEY FUCKING WALES! Frankthetank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    College Station TX
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,873

    Black
    2000 &2002 Z28

    lol I got so much to learn

  4. #4
    Member cobrahunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Bay
    Age
    46
    Posts
    504

    Black
    1998 Camaro Z28

    I guess it depends on how you plan to chain them.





    The first amp powers the left sub, the 2nd amp powers the front four sets of speakers, and the 3rd amp powers the speakers in the hatch area.

    I also have an amp under the passenger sub that powers THAT sub.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Age
    35
    Posts
    128

    Silver
    2002 Trans Am WS6

    Some amps have RCA outs, so you would hook your HU to the inputs of the first amp, and hook the outputs of the first amp into the inputs of the second amp. Just make sure both amps have built-in crossovers. The other way to accomplish it would be to use an outboard crossover. They are pretty cheap, and will allow you to control the frequencies sent to each amp from one spot.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Chicagoland/Champaign
    Posts
    389

    Red
    '97 Z28 M6

    Quote Originally Posted by rbrack View Post
    Some amps have RCA outs, so you would hook your HU to the inputs of the first amp, and hook the outputs of the first amp into the inputs of the second amp.
    That's your best bet -- if you can avoid what I said, do so -- if not, you will be fine either way.

  7. #7
    JOSEY FUCKING WALES! Frankthetank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    College Station TX
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,873

    Black
    2000 &2002 Z28

    Quote Originally Posted by cobrahunter View Post
    I guess it depends on how you plan to chain them.

    Click for full size

    Click for full size

    The first amp powers the left sub, the 2nd amp powers the front four sets of speakers, and the 3rd amp powers the speakers in the hatch area.

    I also have an amp under the passenger sub that powers THAT sub.

    Damn thats a nice set up

  8. #8
    Member cobrahunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Bay
    Age
    46
    Posts
    504

    Black
    1998 Camaro Z28

    Thanls. Why doncha post some pics when u get the chance.

  9. #9
    JOSEY FUCKING WALES! Frankthetank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    College Station TX
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,873

    Black
    2000 &2002 Z28

    my system isnt set up......Im really confused on doing this...I suck at electronics lol

  10. #10
    Member cobrahunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Bay
    Age
    46
    Posts
    504

    Black
    1998 Camaro Z28

    Yeah, I hear ya. Especially when you think ur done with the install, and you start smelling that awfull electrical burning smell, blow fuses until you get it right, yeah, it's all a learning thing.

  11. #11
    Crazy Canuck ! Eugenio_SS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Montreal, CANADA
    Age
    42
    Posts
    3,190

    triple-black
    2000 CamaroSS convertible

    don't y-split the signal... use the RCA out of one amp to feed the other one.

  12. #12
    Junior Member SSTribull's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Rogers, AR
    Age
    33
    Posts
    22

    Black
    1998 Camaro SS

    Good advice all. And cobrahunter, that is absolutely gorgeous!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. help hiding amps
    By seweber in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-16-2010, 10:35 AM
  2. Crunch Amps ???
    By homerunhtr21 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-24-2007, 05:58 PM
  3. Rattling amps
    By fuelslut in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-16-2006, 02:17 PM
  4. NIB amps for sale
    By AutoIllusionZ in forum Parts For Sale / Trade
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 11-29-2005, 05:44 PM
  5. Where to Mount Amps?
    By ryanz400 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-29-2005, 10:12 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •