Results 1 to 4 of 4

Time to start rebuilding....

This is a discussion on Time to start rebuilding.... within the Stereo and Electronics forums, part of the General Help category; Okay, so I'm thinking about my next system. I'm thinking of going balls out mad crazy and all that stuff ...

  1. #1
    10 year lurker DrMilhouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Colorado
    Age
    41
    Posts
    2,119

    Black
    99 Z28

    Time to start rebuilding....

    Okay, so I'm thinking about my next system. I'm thinking of going balls out mad crazy and all that stuff and throwing 6 12s in the hatch (or 10s if I can't fit 12s), or just one as a stealth box or two in a well box like the one from subthump.

    Any thoughts?

    Any of you old timers around here will remember that at least I do have a clue what I'm doing with this stuff, but I'm looking for some feed back on doing something different.

    If I do 6 subs, then I'm thinking of doing 4 in sealed boxes and two in ported boxes. Anyone ever done anything like that? Did the results suck?

    I thought doing 2 8s and 2 12s would have sounded pretty good, but in the end, I never was all that impressed with my last box.

    a little feed back please...

  2. #2
    1 BAD ASS BOWTIE StangKiller615's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Nashville Tn
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,347

    Black on Black
    2001 Camaro SS

    6 12's will be tough as well as 6 10's. It can be done. You can 4 subs in the hatch area and you will probally have to remove the backseat in order to add additional subs. A sealed enclouser is gonna be your best bet considering ported boxes require more air space. BTW, what are you planning on doing? Wakeing the dead?

  3. #3
    Rock-n-Roller White Rascal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    OHIO Go Buckeyes!
    Posts
    539

    Arctic White
    '07 Trailblazer LT

    For the best results go with either a sealed or ported enclosure. Not both. Mixing and matching enclosure types like that isn't a good idea. You could end up having cancellation at some frequencies by doing so. Same goes for using 8" subs with 12" subs. If all 4 subs are crossed over the same you can also have cancellation problems. If you low pass the 12's @ 50Hz and bandpass the 8's from 50Hz to 100Hz that would be OK. It's when the 8's and 12's share the same crossover that you run into problems.

    I think dual 12's in an optimum sized sealed enclosure is more than enough for a good subwoofer system in our cars.

    I'm currently using two 10" Alpine Type-S subwoofers in Stealthboxes. Since the enclosures are right at the minimum recommended size for the subwoofers I was thinking of maybe switching to dual 8" subs. That way the 8" subs and their required enclosure size would be a bit more "optimum". They wouldn't be as compromised as the 10" subs are now.

    When I actually get around to doing this though is anybody's guess.
    The White Rascal SOLD
    Crank up the drums, crank up the bass,
    Crank up my Les Paul in your face!

  4. #4
    10 year lurker DrMilhouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Colorado
    Age
    41
    Posts
    2,119

    Black
    99 Z28

    Quote Originally Posted by White Rascal View Post
    ... Same goes for using 8" subs with 12" subs. If all 4 subs are crossed over the same you can also have cancellation problems. If you low pass the 12's @ 50Hz and bandpass the 8's from 50Hz to 100Hz that would be OK. It's when the 8's and 12's share the same crossover that you run into problems. ...
    That's what I did in my old box. If I recall right, it was even the same frequencies you just said. If it wasn't 50, then it was 60 and 60-100 but I think it was 50. Anyway, it still doesn't work out that great with the different sized subs.

    I'll probably end up with 2 12s after it's all said and done, easier and less expensive.

    To do 6 it would be all for the wow factor, which wears off quickly. It'd just get rid of everything else in the hatch. I think I could squeeze just enough space out for that, but it'd be cramped and also pretty time consuming, not to mention 3 times as expensive for the sub's cost alone.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Trip Odo Resets Every Time I Start the Car
    By Nitro13 in forum General Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-25-2016, 06:38 AM
  2. won't start from time to time
    By 1962 in forum General Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-22-2014, 01:56 PM
  3. Time to start...
    By SilentTrouble in forum General Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-19-2010, 12:38 PM
  4. Help: wont start all the time !!!
    By batmanls1 in forum General Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-18-2010, 08:02 PM
  5. Time to start NEW MOTOR
    By EastTNZ28 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-01-2007, 06:53 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •