Results 1 to 7 of 7

stock monsoon does not work at all now!

This is a discussion on stock monsoon does not work at all now! within the Stereo and Electronics forums, part of the General Help category; alright, so i installed my headers, now my radio does not work at all (cd player doesnt work either) the ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member zach_ws6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    stl area
    Age
    31
    Posts
    68

    black
    2000 WS.6

    stock monsoon does not work at all now!

    alright, so i installed my headers, now my radio does not work at all (cd player doesnt work either) the buttons do not do anything. it will still show a time, but i cant even change that. i have checked fuses, but other than that, i am stumped. i don't know if it is a coincidence or if something went wrong while installing the headers...any ideas??? having no radio in a daily driver sucks!
    [B]coated longtubes, offroad Y, SLP LM,, 18x10 rebels, pro kit, spec 3 clutch... B]
    http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i1...100_412033.jpg

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Austin, Tx
    Age
    33
    Posts
    532

    Black/Black
    2000 Trans Am WS6 A4

    If I had to guess, I'd say that you have a grounding problem... have you checked all your engine grounding straps?

    next, pull your headunit out, and test the power and ground wires... check to see if the ignition wires becomes hot when you put the car in run...

  3. #3
    Junior Member zach_ws6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    stl area
    Age
    31
    Posts
    68

    black
    2000 WS.6

    Thumbs up

    alrighty, i'll give that a look. thanks

  4. #4
    <b>"iznuthn"2 a BOSS!</B> IZNUTHN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    SF,CA
    Age
    40
    Posts
    84
    Blog Entries
    1

    ONYX BLACK
    02 Z28

    imma say try to call your dealer and find out that reset password or code they do with the system stuff

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Austin, Tx
    Age
    33
    Posts
    532

    Black/Black
    2000 Trans Am WS6 A4

    if you didn't disconnect the battery while doing the headers, then I bet it's a grounding problem..

    it could also be that the ignition wire to the radio is cut somewhere now... that's why we need you to pull out the stock headunit, and get a voltmeter out... test all the leads and see if you have at least two power sources... check with ignition on and off etc...

    you're looking for red and yellow wires... yellow should be always-on power, and red is ignition... black is of course ground... let us know what you find.

    if you needed a reset code, it would be asking for one...

    "LOC"

  6. #6
    Junior Member zach_ws6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    stl area
    Age
    31
    Posts
    68

    black
    2000 WS.6

    it does not say "LOC" on the screen (if thats where you are talking about it being) I did give the dealership a call tho...unfortunately i have to take my car there and they have to charge me to fix it. from the dealership, they call GM, blah blah blah (if that is the problem). i havnt had a chance to take the headunit out yet. i dont have a voltmeter, but should be able to get one from someone...i'll let you know what the problem was...

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Austin, Tx
    Age
    33
    Posts
    532

    Black/Black
    2000 Trans Am WS6 A4

    If it's not showing LOC then I don't see what the dealership will do for you... find that voltmeter

    for the price that the dealer would fix an ACTUAL broken headunit, (aka 'replace',) you would clearly just have an aftermarket deck installed, with or without the special amp 'bypass' procedure... (just means that instead of using the speaker outputs from the headunit to power the monsoon amp, you use the RCAs...)

    just depends on what you find with the voltmeter... let us know

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Looking for 2 monsoon rear seat speakers that work :-)or 1
    By Durango in forum Parts Wanted / Trade
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-08-2012, 10:44 AM
  2. Stock Monsoon Amp
    By Camaro69Mac in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-19-2011, 11:20 AM
  3. Ipod cable for stock monsoon. will it work?
    By sharber in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 05-22-2010, 11:58 PM
  4. Amp/Subs/Stock Monsoon H/U
    By HDDude169 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-05-2008, 10:29 AM
  5. Monsoon Experiment, A work in Progress
    By MadSeason in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-15-2005, 10:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •