Results 1 to 7 of 7

Running power for 2 amplifiers for 1998 trans am

This is a discussion on Running power for 2 amplifiers for 1998 trans am within the Stereo and Electronics forums, part of the General Help category; Hi there i am installing a complete new stereo system in my 1998 trans am. I saw this video using ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    NIAGARA FALLS
    Posts
    2

    BLACK
    1998

    Running power for 2 amplifiers for 1998 trans am

    Hi there i am installing a complete new stereo system in my 1998 trans am. I saw this video using the auxiliary battery post to run power for amps. Wondering if this is safe to do. I am going to be running 2 JL Audio amplifiers. One is a 4 channel JX360 and the other is JX500 1D mono block. the link is the video I saw, but I am installing new head unit and speaker as well.


  2. #2
    Member bhunter0830's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Fishers (Indianapols), IN
    Posts
    475
    On the hunt

    Quote Originally Posted by thepitboss View Post
    Hi there i am installing a complete new stereo system in my 1998 trans am. I saw this video using the auxiliary battery post to run power for amps. Wondering if this is safe to do. I am going to be running 2 JL Audio amplifiers. One is a 4 channel JX360 and the other is JX500 1D mono block. the link is the video I saw, but I am installing new head unit and speaker as well..

    Yes, I have been doing it for years with out a problem. Make sure you have it fused properly

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Farmingdale, NY
    Posts
    80

    Black
    1998 Pontiac Trans Am WS6

    I got an extended battery bolt and then bought a premade #4 awg battery cable and ran that off my battery to the amps fuse in the engine bay. I would do the same so you can add another ground. I have a similar setup a 600/6 and 500/1 JL amps for my 98 TA. Any questions just holla I did it last summer so its still fresh.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    NIAGARA FALLS
    Posts
    2

    BLACK
    1998

    Thanks guy for the input just finished the install today I just used the positive post shown in the video into a distribution block and use two desperate ground. seem to be working fin for now . No dimming of light so far. Again thanks

  5. #5
    Moderator 35th-ANV-SS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wherever life takes me
    Posts
    12,465

    Red
    02 35th LE Camaro SS

    Why would you want separate grounds? All your grounds should be to one common ground point. Unless you mean something else?

    I've been running sound systems in my cars for 15 years until about 3 yrs ago and I've never ran more than one ground with multiple amps hooked up. I simply daisy chain them for the power feed (4 gauge split into 8 gauge) and tie all the grounds into one common ground point to the chassis.

    Fuse the main power feed line from the battery and you're done.

    I also have always used the auxiliary power post separate of the battery.

    Never had an issue.
    It's on jackstands.

  6. #6
    Electrical Engineer KMdef9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    North of the Motorcity
    Posts
    2,611

    Custom Swirly Black
    2001 WS6 M6

    Quote Originally Posted by 35th-ANV-SS View Post
    Why would you want separate grounds?
    Some systems will get feedback from other amps, especially when you have a large sub-woofer amp and component system amp grounded together.




    I never would run a powerful or even dual amp system off the aux post. It's thinner, typically lower quality wire than running something straight off the battery. I ran the extended post myself, and then into a distribution block from there. But if your happy with your results, don't change it.

  7. #7
    Moderator 35th-ANV-SS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wherever life takes me
    Posts
    12,465

    Red
    02 35th LE Camaro SS

    I thought you get feedback when you run to separate ground points? Example: grounding to different parts of the chassis? Each amp has it's own ground, but you tie them all to the same point.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. ISO 1998 trans am , camaro ls ECM and only 1998 ECM for ls1
    By knock0991 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-24-2015, 07:59 AM
  2. Help: Stock 1998 tA running rough
    By 1998ls1tA in forum General Help
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 06-16-2014, 08:48 AM
  3. Question: 2011 BMW 335i X-Drive M Power vs. 1998 Trans Am
    By 90ARAPAJ in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-25-2012, 10:06 PM
  4. Running the amp power wire through the firewall...
    By p_funk22 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 10-14-2007, 11:52 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •