Results 1 to 14 of 14

running new wire

This is a discussion on running new wire within the Stereo and Electronics forums, part of the General Help category; Ok this is starting to be a pain in my ***. How do u guys run new wire from ur ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    43

    tan
    2000 Camaro

    running new wire

    Ok this is starting to be a pain in my ***. How do u guys run new wire from ur door speakers in a camaro. I thought i could just push the wire through where the factory wiring goes through and it would come out the other side and i could run it along the floorboard to the trunk where the amp is. I cant even push a wire hanger through the door into the cabin. WTF. theres soo much crap underneath where it should come out. Wires, and plastic panels and guke and all kinds of stuff. Whats the easiest way to do this?

  2. #2
    2004 HEAD/CAM CTS-V 9t8z28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    doylestown, Pa
    Posts
    6,818

    SILVER
    2004 CTS-V

    I just ran wires through my doors. Take door panels, kick panels, and dash under panel off. Take a coat hanger and bend a loop on the end. Tie a not in the end of the speaker wire and feed it through the loop on the coat hanger. As you push it through the door side, grab the rubber boot and move it around as you push it through. When you get it through the boot, push the coat hanger real hard and it will come through. If necessary, pull the rubber mated insulation out a bit. Take needle-nose plyiers and pull it through. It ain't easy but it can be done.
    I just installed MBQuartz in the doors with cross-overs and all. 3SETS of components and Ran 4 GAUGE wire from the battery, under the PCM, and all the way to my amps. and 3 sets of RCA's
    Last edited by 9t8z28; 01-15-2007 at 12:06 PM.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    43

    tan
    2000 Camaro

    Quote Originally Posted by 9t8z28 View Post
    I just ran wires through my doors. Take door panels, kick panels, and dash under panel off. Take a coat hanger and bend a loop on the end. Tie a not in the end of the speaker wire and feed it through the loop on the coat hanger. As you push it through the door side, grab the rubber boot and move it around as you push it through. When you get it through the boot, push the coat hanger real hard and it will come through. If necessary, pull the rubber mated insulation out a bit. Take needle-nose plyiers and pull it through. It ain't easy but it can be done.
    I just installed MBQuartz in the doors with cross-overs and all. 3SETS of components and Ran 4 GAUGE wire from the battery, under the PCM, and all the way to my amps. and 3 sets of RCA's
    Thats exactly what ive been trying to do I have my door panels off took the under part of the dash out and took a coat hanger and made a hook exactly as u explained... althought i could not push the hanger through. I was pushing pretty hard but with no luck.

  4. #4
    2004 HEAD/CAM CTS-V 9t8z28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    doylestown, Pa
    Posts
    6,818

    SILVER
    2004 CTS-V

    Try different angles. Bend the coat hanger different ways. You can doit, I did it while sittin in a WHEELCHAIR!!!!!!

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    43

    tan
    2000 Camaro

    Quote Originally Posted by 9t8z28 View Post
    Try different angles. Bend the coat hanger different ways. You can doit, I did it while sittin in a WHEELCHAIR!!!!!!
    I will keep trying im just afraing im going to break something trying to push through there too hard or cut a wire or something

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    43

    tan
    2000 Camaro

    thx for the help i kept tryin and tryin and finally was able to get it pushed through. BTW would you mind telling me where u put ur crossovers for ur mb quarts.. I was thinking of mounting them inside the doors somewhere but i also have some heavy duty velcro and was thinking of sticking them in the back underneath that panel where the rear hatch speakers are so they are out of sight. This way i wouldnt have to worry about them getting wet.

  7. #7
    2004 HEAD/CAM CTS-V 9t8z28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    doylestown, Pa
    Posts
    6,818

    SILVER
    2004 CTS-V

    In the doors I put them right behind where the arm rest is. I just made a small bracket to hold it in place. Make sure that you put the crossover on top of the clear plastic in the doors. They never got wet and there 6 years old and still pounding away. What kind of system you got? and GOOD LUCK

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    43

    tan
    2000 Camaro

    Quote Originally Posted by 9t8z28 View Post
    In the doors I put them right behind where the arm rest is. I just made a small bracket to hold it in place. Make sure that you put the crossover on top of the clear plastic in the doors. They never got wet and there 6 years old and still pounding away. What kind of system you got? and GOOD LUCK
    Ive just got kind a budget system going... The components are pioneers rev components (ts-c160r's). Got them for $150 shipped. Ill be running them off a profile california 80wrms amp.
    You mentioned to place the crossovers on top of the plastic in the doors... i was kind of thinking to remove that. I know its there to protect against water but im afraid its too flimsy and might create rattling noises. Although if u dont have this problem i may as well leave them in and seal it up as tight as i can.

  9. #9
    2004 HEAD/CAM CTS-V 9t8z28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    doylestown, Pa
    Posts
    6,818

    SILVER
    2004 CTS-V

    Never had a problem with that. If you take the plastic off, dirt will build up on the door panels and moisture will destroy it.

  10. #10
    Junior Member brock417's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    texas
    Age
    27
    Posts
    44

    black
    99 camaro ss

    hey the best way that i found out to wire the door speakers to the amp is to cut the speaker wires on the harness going to the radio. then run the wires that are going to go from the amp to the speakers to the radio. then find out which wires from the amp are right and left. then make sure you know which harness wires are to which speaker. then connect the left wires from the amp to the left speakers and same for right. but make sure that you dont connect the speaker wires coming out of the amp to the wires coming out of the radio. then you should be done.

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    43

    tan
    2000 Camaro

    Quote Originally Posted by 9t8z28 View Post
    Never had a problem with that. If you take the plastic off, dirt will build up on the door panels and moisture will destroy it.
    Ok i will leave it on... Did you put ur 6.5's in the stock kick panel things?

  12. #12
    2004 HEAD/CAM CTS-V 9t8z28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    doylestown, Pa
    Posts
    6,818

    SILVER
    2004 CTS-V

    Yes

  13. #13
    2004 HEAD/CAM CTS-V 9t8z28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    doylestown, Pa
    Posts
    6,818

    SILVER
    2004 CTS-V

    Quote Originally Posted by brock417 View Post
    hey the best way that i found out to wire the door speakers to the amp is to cut the speaker wires on the harness going to the radio. then run the wires that are going to go from the amp to the speakers to the radio. then find out which wires from the amp are right and left. then make sure you know which harness wires are to which speaker. then connect the left wires from the amp to the left speakers and same for right. but make sure that you dont connect the speaker wires coming out of the amp to the wires coming out of the radio. then you should be done.
    Running new thicker gauge wire is better for components powered by an amp. Also, I would rather not cut those wires. You never no if your gonna sell it and want to put the factory stuff back in.

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    43

    tan
    2000 Camaro

    Quote Originally Posted by 9t8z28 View Post
    Running new thicker gauge wire is better for components powered by an amp. Also, I would rather not cut those wires. You never no if your gonna sell it and want to put the factory stuff back in.
    Exactly right, im leaving all the factory wiring as it is in case i sell it. Running all new 12 gauge wire to my comps.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Running rough if running at all help
    By ichliebecamaro in forum LT1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-25-2010, 11:54 AM
  2. How much wire ?
    By stew215 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 01-12-2010, 03:08 PM
  3. fly by wire
    By NEXSTAR7 in forum External Engine
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-27-2009, 03:56 PM
  4. Running the amp power wire through the firewall...
    By p_funk22 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 10-14-2007, 11:52 AM
  5. wtb 5 wire maf.
    By sscrazy in forum Parts Wanted / Trade
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-27-2006, 09:33 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •