Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 28

Running the amp power wire through the firewall...

This is a discussion on Running the amp power wire through the firewall... within the Stereo and Electronics forums, part of the General Help category; Where is the best/easiest spot to run the power wire for an amp? On my 96 Z28, there was a ...

  1. #1
    Impounded
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Age
    39
    Posts
    129

    Pewter
    2000 Firehawk #506 A4

    Running the amp power wire through the firewall...

    Where is the best/easiest spot to run the power wire for an amp? On my 96 Z28, there was a hole about half way between the glove compartment and the floor board on the passenger side up against the wall. Does anyone know if the 98-02's have the same hole? Just asking before I start removing panels and carpet for nothing. Can anyone recommend another spot? I have a drill, but would like to try to use an existing hole if at all possible. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Member Sas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Loveland/Ft. Collins, CO
    Age
    38
    Posts
    359

    Blue
    2001 Formula Firehawk

    What gauge power wire are you running? If it's a smaller gauge the best place I've found is up the hood and around the door. there's a small area you can place the wire and push it behind the panels so it can't be seen. I was to lazy to drill a hole this time.

  3. #3
    Impounded
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Age
    39
    Posts
    129

    Pewter
    2000 Firehawk #506 A4

    It's a small guage. 8, i think. It's only a 250W amp.

  4. #4
    Senior Member JonB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    1,458

    Black
    2005 GTO

    Quote Originally Posted by p_funk22 View Post
    Where is the best/easiest spot to run the power wire for an amp? On my 96 Z28, there was a hole about half way between the glove compartment and the floor board on the passenger side up against the wall. Does anyone know if the 98-02's have the same hole? Just asking before I start removing panels and carpet for nothing. Can anyone recommend another spot? I have a drill, but would like to try to use an existing hole if at all possible. Thanks!
    Yes there is a whole there on the 98-02's as well, thats were I ran my wire then under the carpet along the door panel behind the sailpanel into the trunk area.
    05 PBM GTO
    Cold Air Inductions CAI,
    Relocated IAT with omega,
    Slp Predator tune,
    Flowmaster axle back with H pipe,
    Custom tuned TCM.
    BC Racing coil overs


    Sold 01 z28

  5. #5
    Member Sas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Loveland/Ft. Collins, CO
    Age
    38
    Posts
    359

    Blue
    2001 Formula Firehawk

    That's what I'm running behind the door/hood panels. I'll see if I can take some pics, if you want an easy place to run it

  6. #6
    Senior Member camarojunky74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    corona ca
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,258

    white, white and pewter
    Rip99SSA4,74Z28M4,02SSM6

    all you do is remove the pcm take out that boot and run your wire thru the exitsting hole and grommet,

    best place by far

  7. #7
    Impounded
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Age
    39
    Posts
    129

    Pewter
    2000 Firehawk #506 A4

    Quote Originally Posted by Sas View Post
    That's what I'm running behind the door/hood panels. I'll see if I can take some pics, if you want an easy place to run it
    Do you put it behind the weather stipping in the door? When I did it the other way, through that grommet on the passenger side, i just slit a hole in it and slid the cable through. Removing the pcm seems like it would make that route a lot easier, too.

  8. #8
    Member Sas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Loveland/Ft. Collins, CO
    Age
    38
    Posts
    359

    Blue
    2001 Formula Firehawk

    Yeah, you just need to open it up a little so the wire fits nice

  9. #9
    Impounded
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Age
    39
    Posts
    129

    Pewter
    2000 Firehawk #506 A4

    Ok, I tried to find that hole, but the floor of my car is coated with some kind of sticky rubber crap and when I peeled it back, there was more crap, so I just said fuck it and did it Sas's way. I went up the fender and through a hole between the cowl and the fender, behind the weather stripping and down behind the panelling on the side of my glove compartment and under the carpet all the way to where my spare is. That's where I ran out of wire. So I'm going to get a fuse and another 3 feet of wire and i'll be all set. Thanks for the advice guys. Also, Sas, you were right, i can only see about a 3/4 inch piece of wire from the weather stripping to the panelling, so it's very clean.

  10. #10
    Member Sas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Loveland/Ft. Collins, CO
    Age
    38
    Posts
    359

    Blue
    2001 Formula Firehawk

    I learned about that little gap with my first TA and it saves a lot of hassle routing it that way.

  11. #11
    Impounded
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Age
    39
    Posts
    129

    Pewter
    2000 Firehawk #506 A4

    Yeah, it only took about 30 minutes to route it that way. that's including trying the other way first.

  12. #12
    Junior Member HasselZ28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Lansing, MI
    Posts
    90

    Navy Blue Metallic
    2002 Chevrolet Camaro Z28

    I agree with ComaroJunky remove your PCM and mak a little slit in the boot and fish your wire through, run it under your carpet, under your rear seats and however you want to finish her off. Also I recommend running you RCA cables on the other side because of the static your power cable will give off.

  13. #13
    Senior Member camarojunky74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    corona ca
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,258

    white, white and pewter
    Rip99SSA4,74Z28M4,02SSM6

    okay im no stereo wiz by any means but even if your power cable is shielded , i bought this 90 dollar kicker wiring kit and it said it was shielded i guess kinda like spark plug wires,

    in any case what would it cause if it wasnt shielded, static?

    because for me when i ran my rca cables for my subs all i did was splice into the rear hatch speakers and i had all my cables back there and my other black box thing that you need to make speaker wire into rca cables, maybe doing this i didnt get full output! i dunno anybody out there got any good knowledge you can pass along to me, about stereos, Thanks

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    omaha, ne
    Age
    31
    Posts
    228

    red
    1998 camaro z28

    Quote Originally Posted by camarojunky74 View Post
    okay im no stereo wiz by any means but even if your power cable is shielded , i bought this 90 dollar kicker wiring kit and it said it was shielded i guess kinda like spark plug wires,

    in any case what would it cause if it wasnt shielded, static?

    because for me when i ran my rca cables for my subs all i did was splice into the rear hatch speakers and i had all my cables back there and my other black box thing that you need to make speaker wire into rca cables, maybe doing this i didnt get full output! i dunno anybody out there got any good knowledge you can pass along to me, about stereos, Thanks
    I def. dont know what you did with your RCA cables but essentially your RCA's are connected directly to the back of your deck/cd player then ran on the opposite side of your power wire so that you dont pick up static and engine noise, and they are ran directly into your amp. Thats your RCA cables you never mentioned if you have the factory deck or not which would make a difference? Also you can not buy RCA cables un shielded nor can you buy any stereo cables unshielded as there would be no protection against the wiring inside. The only time you can get wire unsheilded any more is through and electrical supply store or something like a home depot which is expensive and dumb to use for a car stereo. I def. know im not a genious when it comes to car stereos but have hooked up a few in f-bodies if you have any other questions let me know.

  15. #15
    Senior Member camarojunky74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    corona ca
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,258

    white, white and pewter
    Rip99SSA4,74Z28M4,02SSM6

    yeah i have a factory unit, and instead of splicing into the rear of the deck i spliced into the speakers in the back and hooked up my rca cables to them thru this black converter box.

  16. #16
    Junior Member HasselZ28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Lansing, MI
    Posts
    90

    Navy Blue Metallic
    2002 Chevrolet Camaro Z28

    I would ditch the converter and reun them to your head unit, your probably losing alot of output. Also your speakers are divided; for example a 60wattx4channels puts out 15 watts of power to each channel or speaker, and it differs on wattage from the rca outlets on the deck but its more and better quality.

  17. #17
    Member Sas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Loveland/Ft. Collins, CO
    Age
    38
    Posts
    359

    Blue
    2001 Formula Firehawk

    I would run the wires straight to your deck as well, your losing wattage running it through a splitter like that. Depending on the splitter, you might be losing 40% of your wattage. I used to install stereo's for Soundtrack and Best Buy, let me know if you have any questions.


    I just looked back and saw your running that to a factory deck... why? lol
    You can get some decent MP3 players with pre-outs on the back for around $100 right now, you might look into upgrading

  18. #18
    Senior Member camarojunky74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    corona ca
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,258

    white, white and pewter
    Rip99SSA4,74Z28M4,02SSM6

    yeah i have one question, when can you fly to so cal to help me install this lol,

    and as for not having a different head unit, is i love the look of stock, i think an aftermarket looks like shit, i cant stand at looking at some stupid bracket that is half ass cut and put into place, lol i hate it i hate it i hate it,

    i sound like a twelve year old girl

  19. #19
    Member Sas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Loveland/Ft. Collins, CO
    Age
    38
    Posts
    359

    Blue
    2001 Formula Firehawk

    Lol, if you mount it right, it doesn't look bad at all, using an aftermarket headunit. If you want to put a nice system in, your going to have to kill the factory deck, to take advantage of all the extras for tuning and clean power.

  20. #20
    Junior Member HasselZ28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Lansing, MI
    Posts
    90

    Navy Blue Metallic
    2002 Chevrolet Camaro Z28

    Agreed, that head unit just doesn't cut it, also I hated the orange/red display, makes me feel like I'm in a grand prix or something.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Running wires through the firewall
    By pajeff02 in forum General Help
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-31-2011, 07:42 PM
  2. Power Wire
    By SamD_Ind in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-24-2008, 08:58 AM
  3. Running wires through the firewall?
    By Eagle in forum Nitrous
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-02-2007, 07:42 PM
  4. Power Wire
    By Soltakr in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-29-2007, 08:58 AM
  5. running new wire
    By bdavies11 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-15-2007, 05:04 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •