Results 1 to 3 of 3

replacing the Stock unit

This is a discussion on replacing the Stock unit within the Stereo and Electronics forums, part of the General Help category; Do you need to take apart the dash to take out the original Delco deck?, mine works some of the ...

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Palm Desert, CA
    Age
    26
    Posts
    121

    White
    97 3.8L Firebird 5 Speed

    replacing the Stock unit

    Do you need to take apart the dash to take out the original Delco deck?, mine works some of the time but I hate when it turns off randomly. I want to replace it but is it hard? Car is a 1997 V6 3.8 5-speed Firebird if it matters

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Dawson, IL
    Age
    58
    Posts
    83

    NBM
    2000 Trans Am

    sounds like it could be the same issue as here: Radio and Power windows issues

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tulsa,OK
    Age
    37
    Posts
    914

    Quick Silver
    2002 Z06

    No replacing the head unit is VERY easy.

    That grey plastic trim peice around the radio and A/C controls just pulls off. There is just a clip in the middle on the left and right. Just pull from the center, it may seem stuck but it comes out.

    Then the stereo can be removed with the two bolts holding it in.

    When you get a replacment head unit, get the wiring harness that will just plug into your factory wiring. You will have to connect the new stereo to that harness but then it will just plug in instead of you hacking apart the factory plug.

    I usually just go with crutchfield personally but best buy will also have the harness. I'm not sure if Walmart will.


    Slow Passenger Window - Want Passenger Express Down - Tired of Replacing DayTime Running Light Bulbs

    Camaro Owners Click Here
    Firebird Owners Click Here

    Need instructions to replace your F-Body window motor?
    www.AutoTrix.net

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question: Replacing factory head unit w new touchscreen
    By SSNAKEATER23 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-16-2011, 09:46 PM
  2. Question: replacing stock monsoon head unit w/ alpine
    By tgriffin47 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-06-2009, 11:07 PM
  3. Replacing stock heads
    By kbLS179 in forum Internal Engine
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-16-2008, 10:55 AM
  4. Replacing the factory unit
    By silplu83 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-02-2008, 03:52 PM
  5. Stock Head Unit System or install custom head unit?
    By ibh182 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-16-2007, 10:43 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •