Results 1 to 5 of 5

Need some advice, changing head unit

This is a discussion on Need some advice, changing head unit within the Stereo and Electronics forums, part of the General Help category; So a friend of mine gave me his head unit so I decided to go ahead and hook it up. ...

  1. #1
    Rice Killa JwMonE99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Myrtle Beach
    Age
    27
    Posts
    5,561

    Black With T-Tops
    96 Z28 M6

    Need some advice, changing head unit

    So a friend of mine gave me his head unit so I decided to go ahead and hook it up. (going from a stock one)
    So I went out got all the things I needed for the install, wired it up ect. ect.
    In the end I can only get the radio to work. I put in a CD and reads it and I can go from track to track and I see the time of the song goes but only problem is I dont hear nothing from speakers. The same results when I hook up the ipod to the AUX.
    My system is pretty much all stock besides the headunit now, no amp or anything like that.
    Anyone ever had that problem?
    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Impounded
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Beaver Dam KY
    Posts
    7,746

    79 T/A -91 Firebird
    1998 Trans Am -Oynx Black

    Might be the reason he gave it to you?

  3. #3
    Rice Killa JwMonE99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Myrtle Beach
    Age
    27
    Posts
    5,561

    Black With T-Tops
    96 Z28 M6

    But it was working fine when he took it out of the truck.


    300RWHP, 341RWTQ
    1/8 mile 8.32 at 83.97
    1/4 mile 13.049 at 105.24

  4. #4
    Junior Member ihv800's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    17

    Red
    1996 Camaro Z28 M6

    I assume you wired the power antenna wire from the head unit to the cars harness, you need to take the amp remote turn on wire from the head unit and splice it in with the power antenna. With just the power antenna wire hooked up it will make the tuner work and everything else read but produce no sound.

  5. #5
    tattoo artist,esquire sic2001's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Huntington Beach, California
    Age
    48
    Posts
    416

    navy blue metallic
    2001 trans am

    depends on the hu, I had to turn "off" the power to the amp. There is an option in the set-up menu on some of them.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Changing Banks...Advice?
    By BadBlueBird* in forum Almost Anything Goes
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-27-2011, 05:33 PM
  2. new head unit
    By transamgirl89 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-05-2010, 11:42 PM
  3. Question: Advice on changing oil in m6?
    By TheJudge05 in forum GTO
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-19-2010, 10:07 PM
  4. Need general head unit advice
    By janstett in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-30-2008, 12:24 PM
  5. Stock Head Unit System or install custom head unit?
    By ibh182 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-16-2007, 10:43 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •