Results 1 to 8 of 8

i wanna by pass the stock monsoon amp

This is a discussion on i wanna by pass the stock monsoon amp within the Stereo and Electronics forums, part of the General Help category; I plan on keeping the stock head unit. I know the stock monsoon amp powers the front mids and sail ...

  1. #1
    Detailing + Design third_shift|studios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Age
    36
    Posts
    21,719

    My life is a
    Ben Stiller movie.

    i wanna bypass the stock monsoon amp

    I plan on keeping the stock head unit. I know the stock monsoon amp powers the front mids and sail panel subs. I would like to remove it and use a new 4 channel amp. has anyone done this? if so, could you please give me some pointers. thanks!
    Last edited by third_shift|studios; 03-28-2006 at 01:49 PM.


    Custom Car Emblems
    from third_shift|studios
    Pittsburgh Car Detailing & Paint Protection from ts|s detailing
    jaison tortorea

  2. #2
    Senior Member MadSeason's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Indiana
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,000
    1994 POS

    Get an adaptor for the HU that has RCA outs and run it back there. You'll have to remove some plastic pieces on the passenger side to hide it all but won't be too difficult. Stash the AMP where the spare would if you like or just on the rear deck somewhere

  3. #3
    Rock-n-Roller White Rascal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    OHIO Go Buckeyes!
    Posts
    539

    Arctic White
    '07 Trailblazer LT

    I would pass on the speaker to RCA level adapter and just get an amp with speaker level inputs built in. The simpler you keep the setup the better.
    The White Rascal SOLD
    Crank up the drums, crank up the bass,
    Crank up my Les Paul in your face!

  4. #4
    Detailing + Design third_shift|studios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Age
    36
    Posts
    21,719

    My life is a
    Ben Stiller movie.

    madseason: you saying i can just tuck it in the stock location? it's a big amp, about 17x12. I assume the stock wiring will work for the power/ground/remote as well as the outputs?

    rascal: the amp i'm getting [Infinity 7541a] requires the RCA inputs.

  5. #5
    Rock-n-Roller White Rascal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    OHIO Go Buckeyes!
    Posts
    539

    Arctic White
    '07 Trailblazer LT

    No, you don't want to use any of the factory wiring on your new amp. The stock power wires are WAY too whimpy for a real amplifier.

  6. #6
    Detailing + Design third_shift|studios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Age
    36
    Posts
    21,719

    My life is a
    Ben Stiller movie.

    what about the speaker wires? i really REALY don't want to run all those fucking wires...

  7. #7
    Senior Member MadSeason's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Indiana
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,000
    1994 POS

    Quote Originally Posted by dipherentdesign
    madseason: you saying i can just tuck it in the stock location? it's a big amp, about 17x12. I assume the stock wiring will work for the power/ground/remote as well as the outputs?

    rascal: the amp i'm getting [Infinity 7541a] requires the RCA inputs.
    No, you'll have to take out the spare tire completely to hide it there, I'm not sure of the dimensions of that amp but it might hide back there with a little mounting fabrication for it. Run new cables, and since you're doing that just get the RCA outs from the adaptor that's sold at crutchfield i believe.

  8. #8
    Rock-n-Roller White Rascal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    OHIO Go Buckeyes!
    Posts
    539

    Arctic White
    '07 Trailblazer LT

    Quote Originally Posted by dipherentdesign
    what about the speaker wires? i really REALY don't want to run all those fucking wires...
    Definitely run all new speaker wires too.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Stock Monsoon Amp
    By Camaro69Mac in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-19-2011, 11:20 AM
  2. Fastest pass on stock or modded factory 10 bolt
    By chevy1966 in forum Drivetrain
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-30-2008, 07:46 AM
  3. Any stock LS1's in the Colorado Springs area wanna race a Saturn lol?
    By BoostHard05 in forum Rocky Mountain Members
    Replies: 170
    Last Post: 09-23-2007, 01:43 AM
  4. nbm pass fender cd player, chrome zr1's (2), tan door panel pass
    By 1fastcamarosss11 in forum Parts Wanted / Trade
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-17-2007, 10:47 AM
  5. Stock monsoon stereo...
    By Frosty in forum Parts For Sale / Trade
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-04-2005, 08:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •