Red
    2001 Z28 Convertible

Question I need help with my Monsoon stereo system

Hey.

I'm a newbie to the forum, so I am sorry if this topic has been thoroughly reviewed in thr past.

I have a 2001 Z28 Convertible. The Monsoon system is crap, I know; but the replacement system I want (Alpine HU w/ nav and every option for hook-in (iPod, etc); new speakers all the way around; amp; sub; etc) will cost me around $3000...which is completely unacceptable to the wife , who is supporting the family while I go to med school.

So...I need to somehow make the BEST of what I've got, as inexpensively as possible.

What started it all is the factory 12-disk CD changer went out. It wouldn't play CDs, and then it started eating the magazine. Then, both front speakers blew-out. I've been listening to talk radio through only the rear speakers for the past 6 months, and now I'm sick of it.

Also, I am a novice as far as installing these types of components, but am a quick learner with a little help.

What can I do to keep costs down while bringing out what I can from the Monsoon system?

I am planning on simply replacing the CD changer with the exact same model (CDX-M12 zg) to make install easy. Although it took me an hour or so, I figured out how to remove and replace the front door panels and rear sail panels so I could replace the speakers, which I intend to do. I found "new" factory front speakers, for this system, on ebay yeterday and they are on their way.

The seller states that these speakers are a better quality than the originals. Should I also change out the rear speakers too?

I thought this was a "premium" sound system with 8 speakers? Where are they all?

When I had a Jeep Wrangler, I installed a factory subwoofer (it had a built-in amp and was designed to fit nicely behind the rear seat) to the factory HU and speaker system and it made a HUGE difference. Is there such a quick and easy fix with this system?