Results 1 to 3 of 3

How should I hook this up without blowing the sub?

This is a discussion on How should I hook this up without blowing the sub? within the Stereo and Electronics forums, part of the General Help category; I have a Rockford Fosgate P3001 amp and a RF single voice coil P1. The amp puts out 300x1 at ...

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Age
    30
    Posts
    114

    Red
    '99 Firebird Trans Am WS6

    How should I hook this up without blowing the sub?

    I have a Rockford Fosgate P3001 amp and a RF single voice coil P1. The amp puts out 300x1 at 2 ohms and 150x1 at 4 ohms (really a little bit more, but this is what its rated at). The sub is a 4 ohm single voice coil that handles 150 RMS.
    The amp has two connections (even though its a mono amp), if you hook up two subs to the two connections it connects them as 4 ohm loads, and if you connect just one sub to one connection it puts it at 2 ohms. My question is how do I hook it up without blowing the sub? Thanks ahead of time for any help.

  2. #2
    Rock-n-Roller White Rascal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    OHIO Go Buckeyes!
    Posts
    539

    Arctic White
    '07 Trailblazer LT

    The two different outputs on the amp do NOT determine whether the load is 4ohms or 2 ohms. If you hook up two 2 ohm subs to each output the combined load will be 1 ohm and not 4. If you connect a single 8 ohm sub to only one of the two outputs the amp will see that 8 ohms and not 2.

    You have a sub with a single 4 ohm voice coil so connect it to one set of outputs on the amp and be done with it.
    The White Rascal SOLD
    Crank up the drums, crank up the bass,
    Crank up my Les Paul in your face!

  3. #3
    Even Bandit Is Jealous mpunklil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    San Juan Capistrano, CA
    Posts
    237

    Black
    2004 Cadillac CTS-V

    Quote Originally Posted by White Rascal View Post
    The two different outputs on the amp do NOT determine whether the load is 4ohms or 2 ohms. If you hook up two 2 ohm subs to each output the combined load will be 1 ohm and not 4. If you connect a single 8 ohm sub to only one of the two outputs the amp will see that 8 ohms and not 2.

    You have a sub with a single 4 ohm voice coil so connect it to one set of outputs on the amp and be done with it.
    I agree. The second set on the amp is just a jumper off the first set. They are essentially exactly the same. Just + to +, - to -. Simple enough

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Blowing third
    By egod in forum Manual Transmission
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-10-2008, 05:11 AM
  2. Blowing Sound?
    By Fade2Black in forum General Help
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-09-2008, 03:10 PM
  3. A/c Fuse keeps blowing...not sure why
    By freshadenamufcka in forum General Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-20-2008, 04:24 AM
  4. blowing fuse
    By guy in forum General Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-01-2007, 08:11 PM
  5. FUSE keeps blowing?
    By First Spray777 in forum General Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-23-2007, 06:45 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •