Results 1 to 7 of 7

how to install subs/amp on stock unit

This is a discussion on how to install subs/amp on stock unit within the Stereo and Electronics forums, part of the General Help category; I came across some subs and an amp from a buddy of mine. this is actually for my truck with ...

  1. #1
    Wishin I had $ to play. 99zhuggerz99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Age
    31
    Posts
    14

    Hugger Orange
    1999 Camaro Z28

    how to install subs/amp on stock unit

    I came across some subs and an amp from a buddy of mine. this is actually for my truck with a stock delco system. I want to hook this up but i am LD when it comes to wiring. what will i need to get this all working, can i just piggy-back off a speaker wire then lead that to the amp or what? please any help will work, but remember i know nothing about this stuff.

  2. #2
    Wishin I had $ to play. 99zhuggerz99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Age
    31
    Posts
    14

    Hugger Orange
    1999 Camaro Z28

    ok decided to put them in the Z, still stock but monsoon HU now. please any help, i bought an amp kit, but the stock monsoon does not have the conections i need, how can i rig it to work

  3. #3
    Junior Member willstoyz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    new york
    Age
    51
    Posts
    46

    black
    2001 camaro ss conv.

    Does your amp have high level inputs?

  4. #4
    Wishin I had $ to play. 99zhuggerz99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Age
    31
    Posts
    14

    Hugger Orange
    1999 Camaro Z28

    yes it does.

  5. #5
    Junior Member willstoyz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    new york
    Age
    51
    Posts
    46

    black
    2001 camaro ss conv.

    You can tap off the monsoon amp to get your input for your subwoofer amp. Let me know if thats what you want to do and I'll tell you what wires to use.

  6. #6
    Wishin I had $ to play. 99zhuggerz99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Age
    31
    Posts
    14

    Hugger Orange
    1999 Camaro Z28

    my amp has rca inputs, but the monsoon has no rca outputs. i have the power line run to the amp, but thats all. how can i make it go thump. Thats all i want. the amp has a place for a "remote" whatever that is. i just do not know anything about electronics and am too cheap to pay for some one to install it.

  7. #7
    Junior Member willstoyz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    new york
    Age
    51
    Posts
    46

    black
    2001 camaro ss conv.

    High level inputs are speaker wire inputs, the rca inputs are low level. If you only have rca inputs then you need an adapter for the head unit called a line level converter that plugs into the harness and gives you rca outputs.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Amp/Subs/Stock Monsoon H/U
    By HDDude169 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-05-2008, 10:29 AM
  2. help with stock cd player and aftermarket subs and amp
    By squeals99 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 01-06-2008, 02:25 AM
  3. Stock Head Unit System or install custom head unit?
    By ibh182 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-16-2007, 10:43 AM
  4. subs with stock radio
    By craz1469 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-12-2006, 01:13 AM
  5. How to install a window A/C unit?
    By 98MustGT in forum Almost Anything Goes
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-17-2006, 05:46 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •