Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

High beams not working

This is a discussion on High beams not working within the Stereo and Electronics forums, part of the General Help category; In the process of purchasing 2000 t/a ram air ws6 but the high beams do not work as informed by ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4
    2000 ws6

    High beams not working

    In the process of purchasing 2000 t/a ram air ws6 but the high beams do not work as informed by the mechanic is this an easy fix? Let me know. Thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member JaycenK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Holiday,FL
    Age
    40
    Posts
    1,378

    Green
    1997 Camaro Z-28

    At the base of the steering column there was a plug o my 94 and 97. I had several shops disconect it when my wife would take the car in to have a headlight fixed. check there to make sure it is pluged in. I realize these are LT1 cars and your looking at an ls but might be in the same spot. also there is a linkage that runs down there to a switch. that is what activates the high beams see if the linkage moves and it may just be a bad switch.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,567

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    Could also be as simple as a bad relay, fuse or a simple short. Check the electrical boxes underhood and then inspect the wiring for any bare spots around the headlights. It is not really protected from the metal edges on the brackets, at least on our car it wasn't.

  4. #4
    Member herculesrider1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    504

    Red
    '00 TransAm RamAir WS6 M6

    Where is the relay or the fuse for the high beams? I've looked under the hood on the drivers side and on the drivers side near the dash when the drivers door is open, and can't find anything that says lights, high beam, low beam. Anyone know where the relay or fuse might be???
    Ported/Polished throttle body, Lingenfelter launch module, SLP line lock, QTP exhaust cutout, LS7 clutch, K&N, Ceramic coated longtubes, no cats, 3" exhaust, Flowmaster "B", Eibach springs, Midwest Chassis 9" rearend w/4.10's, tru-trac, Strange nodular S case, Daytona support, 1350 Series yoke

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,567

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    I thought it was in the underhood electrical box, but never really looked for it.

  6. #6
    Member herculesrider1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    504

    Red
    '00 TransAm RamAir WS6 M6

    With all due respect, I have been told that it's under the hood fuse panels or the cab fuse panel. I also checked at the base of the steering column for some kind of connection that may have been loose, but nothing. I don't want to take it to the stealership, but in order to get it inspected, I have to have high beams working. And I can't get it registered until I get it inspected. So, I would rather try to fix it myself and save some $$$. The highbeam headlamps are new and my lowbeams work fine. Everything works on the steering column controller, the washer, windshield wipers, turn signals, cruise control.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,567

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    I will try to remember to grab my manuals and will post back up...

  8. #8
    Member herculesrider1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    504

    Red
    '00 TransAm RamAir WS6 M6

    Thank you sir!

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,567

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    We ended up going out last night and didn't arrive home until after 9:00... writing myself a note to look it up tonight.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,567

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    Looking at the schematics now...

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,567

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    Headlights do have a fusible link, but if this is blown your low beams would not be functioning. Hmm...

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,567

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    Ok, first thing to do is unplug the harness connector on the back of either high beam and jumper it with power and ground to be certain that the bulbs are good. That, or you can probe for power and ground at the harness connector. Power is going to be the light green wire on the left and right. Ground is the black wire, but both beams ground through the same source. Inspect the wiring in the area of the headlight assembly as it can run on the bodyworks. If the light green wire is broken between the left high beam lamp and the dimmer switch it would disable both beams. Again, probing for power with the lights on and high beams engaged will tell you this.

    Let me know what you find, please.

  13. #13
    Member herculesrider1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    504

    Red
    '00 TransAm RamAir WS6 M6

    I left the high beam connector unplugged, and with a digital multimeter measured the voltage from the light green wire to ground while switching the dimmer switch several times. Each time I operated the dimmer switch, I would go back under the hood and check the multimeter, and never did get any voltage. In order to assure multimeter was working, I went to the battery and measured hot to gnd and got 12.8 volts DC. Then went back to high beam pigtail and went light green wire connector to body gnd and got no voltage. The light green wire did not seem broken as it had a solid feel from the pigtail end as far back as I checked into the wire loom.

  14. #14
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,567

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    The diagnostic in the service manual suggests a connection or wiring issue. When you flick the high beams on, does the indicator lamp in the instrument cluster light up? Turn your fog lamps on and after ensuring that they light up, flick the high beams on. Do the fog lights turn off when the high beams are activated?

  15. #15
    Member herculesrider1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    504

    Red
    '00 TransAm RamAir WS6 M6

    The instrument cluster high beam indicator does not light up at any time. I have hard-wired my lights and headlight actuator motors in, so there is no issue with the large connector having good contact. I will do the check with the fog lamps when I leave here in a few minutes and get back with you. Thank you

  16. #16
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,567

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    If the high beam indicator isn't lighting up, and the fog light test results in them staying on when you activate high beams, I would say that your switch is bad.

  17. #17
    Member herculesrider1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    504

    Red
    '00 TransAm RamAir WS6 M6

    Ok, I turned on the lights, turned on the fogs, clicked the high beam on the column, and the fogs stayed on each time I clicked the high beams. Ok, so where is the high beam switch located? Is it inside the steering column? I've seen a couple sticky threads and it's major surgery to get to it, if it's what you are referring to....

  18. #18
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,567

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    Diagnostic recommends checking the harness connector at the dimmer switch and if that doesn't do it to replace the dimmer switch (p. 2-71 - just a reference in case you need more info). Yes, that means you are in the steering column. The signal wire from the dimmer switch is still light green and it looks like it is a double wire - one runs to the headlights and the other splits and runs to the high beam indicator and fog light control. I would probably disconnect the switch and jumper power to the light green wire in the connector to see if this activates your high beams -- just to ensure that it is not a wiring or connection issue down the line somewhere.

  19. #19
    Member herculesrider1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    504

    Red
    '00 TransAm RamAir WS6 M6

    Thanks Jeff for all your research and input. Looks like the hard part is on the horizon. Not something I'm looking forward to. But I appreciate all your efforts. Thanks man.

  20. #20
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,567

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    Thanks - let me know if you need any additional info posted or emailed.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. High/Low beams won't turn on sometimes
    By amza_03 in forum LT1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-20-2010, 05:32 PM
  2. rocker switch high beams
    By az gt eater in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-24-2009, 07:38 PM
  3. no blinkers or high beams
    By bruski83 in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-09-2007, 10:43 PM
  4. High Beams
    By Jay_dub87 in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-09-2007, 11:20 PM
  5. Hi beams and Low beams on at the smae time....
    By SOMSS in forum Appearance Section
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-30-2006, 05:11 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •