Results 1 to 6 of 6

Head Unit

This is a discussion on Head Unit within the Stereo and Electronics forums, part of the General Help category; My factory head unit iss starting to lock up and i was wondering what fairly cheap head units from Best ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Griffith, IN
    Posts
    5

    Red
    2002 Trans Am

    Head Unit

    My factory head unit iss starting to lock up and i was wondering what fairly cheap head units from Best buy will work ok and still sound good with the factory sound system!!

  2. #2
    Senior Member Z28Thunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Broken Arrow, Ok
    Age
    52
    Posts
    4,542

    Arctic White
    2000 Z28

    The factory head unit has the amp built into the radio. Any aftermarket head unit will sound okay. And what I mean by okay. It will not fill the speakers out with sound as well.

  3. #3
    Member BadTA00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Riegelwood
    Age
    47
    Posts
    188

    Black
    2000 Trans Am

    The tweeters are the only thing powered by the head unit. Everything else goes through the Monsoon amp on the Firebirds.

  4. #4
    Member knightryda01's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    710

    midnight blue
    2000 Pontiac ram air ws-6

    From my understanding of what I was told at Best buy is, with an aftermarket radio, they need to basically rewire the entire car and it is a pain in the ass. I could be wrong but that's what they told me.

  5. #5
    expensive tires az gt eater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    phoenix
    Posts
    1,951

    white
    04 2500 4x4 crew cab

    That was my experience as well. Rewire the whole thing.

  6. #6
    Electrical Engineer KMdef9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    North of the Motorcity
    Posts
    2,611

    Custom Swirly Black
    2001 WS6 M6

    Quote Originally Posted by Z28Thunder View Post
    The factory head unit has the amp built into the radio. Any aftermarket head unit will sound okay. And what I mean by okay. It will not fill the speakers out with sound as well.
    Yupper. The subs are then amped themselves after the radio too, so that leads to more complications.

    I would look into a used stock HU if your not too picky about the sound quality. Otherwise, it might be time to tear down the car and re-wire. Which can really be worth it if you have the $$$$$.
    "Some people live for the rules..... I live for exceptions" N. Hexum

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question: New head unit
    By derekbuckner1 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-03-2011, 08:28 PM
  2. New Head unit
    By tomz28 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-03-2009, 02:29 PM
  3. Stock Head Unit System or install custom head unit?
    By ibh182 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-16-2007, 10:43 AM
  4. 1.5 din head unit?
    By fastws6 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 01-28-2006, 06:53 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •