Results 1 to 11 of 11

Hard to install?

This is a discussion on Hard to install? within the Stereo and Electronics forums, part of the General Help category; I am thinking about purchasing a 12 disc cd changer for my 2000 TA. My car didn't come with that ...

  1. #1
    Senior Member clg82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    California
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,453
    2000 Trans Am

    Hard to install?

    I am thinking about purchasing a 12 disc cd changer for my 2000 TA. My car didn't come with that option and i plan on purchasing one that did come stock in another trans am? Is this hard to install, i know it goes in the trunk but am not sure what wires it goes to......any help would be appreciated!~Chris
    2000 Arctic White trans am, ws6 hood, ws6 air box, slp lid, slp smooth bellows, slp loudmouth exhaust,shift kit, rebuilt trans, LS6 intake, 3.73 gears, Shaner S3 p/p throttle body, and a tune . SFC. C6 ZO6 rims 18" in back 17" in front. Drilled and slotted rotors.

  2. #2
    Member Mike's TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Age
    35
    Posts
    880

    Black
    99 Trans Am(sold)

    I believe the wiring is still there even though you didn't have it originally.

    There should be a connection on the driver side under the panel that holds the speakers in the trunk area. It's black.

  3. #3
    Senior Member clg82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    California
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,453
    2000 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike's TA View Post
    I believe the wiring is still there even though you didn't have it originally.

    There should be a connection on the driver side under the panel that holds the speakers in the trunk area. It's black.
    Would I have to splice any wires? And how would i get the wire from underneith there to inside my trunk? and it's on the drivers side?

  4. #4
    Member Mike's TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Age
    35
    Posts
    880

    Black
    99 Trans Am(sold)

    The connection is already in the trunk. The panel on the Driver Side, the furthest one in the back. Has a speaker grill on the outside, there are two speakers attached to it. Pull off that panel and you will see the connection. It will be attached to the wires that run to your speakers, I believe.

    I've never installed one, but I think all you have to do is plug the changer into the connection that's there and it will work.

    Only thing you should have to worry about is mounting the changer.

    Someone correct me if I'm wrong.

    You could also do a search in the Stereo / Electronics Forum to see if there are other threads about this.

  5. #5
    Senior Member clg82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    California
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,453
    2000 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike's TA View Post
    The connection is already in the trunk. The panel on the Driver Side, the furthest one in the back. Has a speaker grill on the outside, there are two speakers attached to it. Pull off that panel and you will see the connection. It will be attached to the wires that run to your speakers, I believe.

    I've never installed one, but I think all you have to do is plug the changer into the connection that's there and it will work.

    Only thing you should have to worry about is mounting the changer.

    Someone correct me if I'm wrong.

    You could also do a search in the Stereo / Electronics Forum to see if there are other threads about this.
    thanks for the input. if the connection is there it would be rather easy to install, the only problem i would have is where to mount it like you said. But i always thought it was on the passenger side i guess i was wrong.

  6. #6
    Something Diabolical... chuckie669's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    2,677
    2000 C5 Torch Red

    I saw an Delco changer in the trunk at a junkyard. It was sitting on the little shelf area in the driver side hatch. That's where allot of ppl but a single sub box.

  7. #7
    Detailing + Design third_shift|studios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Age
    36
    Posts
    21,719

    My life is a
    Ben Stiller movie.

    i'll sell you mine. I have no use for it. I dunno the price they go for??

  8. #8
    Senior Member clg82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    California
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,453
    2000 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by third_shift|studios View Post
    i'll sell you mine. I have no use for it. I dunno the price they go for??
    would it work in my car? or do you know if i would have to splice into any wires? also do you have the cd "sleave" that goes inside it as well? How much is the lowest you are willing to take?
    Last edited by clg82; 09-12-2008 at 10:14 AM.

  9. #9
    Senior Member clg82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    California
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,453
    2000 Trans Am

    If anyone has ever done this before i could use some input. What did you mount it to if your car wasn't equipped with it. I checked under the rear panel and the plug is definatley there, but where and what do i mount it too?

  10. #10
    Junior Member Cmdr Zero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Saratoga Springs,New York
    Posts
    27

    Pewter/Black
    02/98 M6 WS6

    I put one in my 98 when I got it new. But I the got the changer from the dealer and it came with all the mounting hardware/brackets. If yours is used and does`nt come with it I do`nt know where you would go for for the these. E-Bay? Anyway, it just plugs into the the preexisting cable. It mounts inside the cubby to the left of the t-top storage well behind the driver. I had to mark the bracket mounting holes and drill them out. After I mounted the unit I got underneath where the mounting bolt and nuts went through and sealed them with silicone. About 1 hr. Good luck.

  11. #11
    Senior Member clg82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    California
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,453
    2000 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by Cmdr Zero View Post
    I put one in my 98 when I got it new. But I the got the changer from the dealer and it came with all the mounting hardware/brackets. If yours is used and does`nt come with it I do`nt know where you would go for for the these. E-Bay? Anyway, it just plugs into the the preexisting cable. It mounts inside the cubby to the left of the t-top storage well behind the driver. I had to mark the bracket mounting holes and drill them out. After I mounted the unit I got underneath where the mounting bolt and nuts went through and sealed them with silicone. About 1 hr. Good luck.
    Thanks for the input, i believe the guy that i am getting it from still has the mounting bracket but am not sure yet he hasn't gotten back to me yet~Chris

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question: How hard is this install....
    By clg82 in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 03-05-2009, 07:08 PM
  2. Cam - hard to install
    By R_Yates69@Hotmail.com in forum Internal Engine
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-07-2009, 04:05 PM
  3. How hard is this install?
    By clg82 in forum Showcar and Detailing
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-05-2009, 06:25 PM
  4. Hard to install?
    By clg82 in forum General Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-20-2007, 06:16 AM
  5. Hard to install?
    By clg82 in forum Drivetrain
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-08-2007, 07:22 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •