Results 1 to 3 of 3

GTO question

This is a discussion on GTO question within the Stereo and Electronics forums, part of the General Help category; I searched guys, honestly. I am sorry if this is a question that has been asked too many times, but ...

  1. #1
    Member jacobyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Age
    42
    Posts
    295

    Impulse Blue Matallic
    2005 GTO

    GTO question

    I searched guys, honestly. I am sorry if this is a question that has been asked too many times, but here goes.

    I want to keep the car looking stock inside. No aftermarket stereo, nothing to show aftermarket speakers, etc. What I want to know is if anyone has any idea how the factory stereo and the factory amp connect. What I want to do is leave the factory deck and just replace the amp with better units to drive better speakers.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    hillbilly deluxe GREG@94GT's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    JACKSON
    Age
    31
    Posts
    27

    green for meow
    '96 ws6 formula

    Quote Originally Posted by jacobyb
    I searched guys, honestly. I am sorry if this is a question that has been asked too many times, but here goes.

    I want to keep the car looking stock inside. No aftermarket stereo, nothing to show aftermarket speakers, etc. What I want to know is if anyone has any idea how the factory stereo and the factory amp connect. What I want to do is leave the factory deck and just replace the amp with better units to drive better speakers.

    Any ideas?
    All I can say is ya gotta pull out the deck and see what your options are... IDK how the audio is w/ the GTO... If its anything like the mach460 in the mustangs then a job like this will be very hard...

    I cant see any reason why ya couldnt replace the speakers... ya dont need an amp unless its for subs... does your car have subs stock? if it does ya could just get new better subs and speakers...

  3. #3
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    The factory amp for the subs is in the trunk on the far left side. Take the cover off and you'll see it, well you'll see the mount for it. It's stuck in behind that side wall. Once you get the cover off that side you'll see what I'm talking about. I bumped my amp up on mine and it made a pretty big difference. I went just past halfway I think.
    That's as far as I've made it on mine. I do know changing the speakers out isn't just a walk in the park. You have to take quite a bit of the interior out to get to the sail panel speakers and the subs in the back deck. Check out the GTO boards. Those guys know far more than I do.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. speedometer question + top speed question
    By Krazy351w in forum General Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-21-2007, 06:51 PM
  2. HPIII question (not the same old question)
    By slims00ls1z28 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-01-2007, 05:55 PM
  3. 97 Bird Headlight question also engine noise question
    By Zapper2003 in forum General Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-13-2006, 04:03 AM
  4. Speedometer question, RPO question
    By acrylicophobia in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-02-2006, 08:08 AM
  5. Sex Question spinoff- PORN QUESTION
    By egaian in forum Almost Anything Goes
    Replies: 77
    Last Post: 07-26-2006, 04:07 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •