Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 25

Gauge Cluster question

This is a discussion on Gauge Cluster question within the Stereo and Electronics forums, part of the General Help category; Im curious about replacing gauge clusters...if i were to replace mine with a different cluster, would the new clusters mileage ...

  1. #1
    Senior Member SteveCZ28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Greene, Iowa
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,707

    Red
    99 Chevrolet Camaro Z-28

    Gauge Cluster question

    Im curious about replacing gauge clusters...if i were to replace mine with a different cluster, would the new clusters mileage be my "new" mileage? or does the mileage actually stay the same as my car?? im just curious as i want a 2nd gauge cluster to do some overlays on, and dont wanna mess up my stock/factory cluster

  2. #2
    expensive tires az gt eater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    phoenix
    Posts
    1,951

    white
    04 2500 4x4 crew cab

    The cluster holds the mileage.

  3. #3
    Moderator 98TransAmWs-6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    3,596

    Black/ Silver
    98 TA WS6/ 01 C5 Corvette

    Quote Originally Posted by az gt eater View Post
    The cluster holds the mileage.
    The mileage is calculated by the computer. So a new cluster shouldn't have any effect on that.

  4. #4
    Senior Member SteveCZ28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Greene, Iowa
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,707

    Red
    99 Chevrolet Camaro Z-28

    lol what is it guys? i have 2 replies, and 2 differen answers

  5. #5
    Moderator 98TransAmWs-6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    3,596

    Black/ Silver
    98 TA WS6/ 01 C5 Corvette

    This should help clear up anyone who doesn't understand how they work:

    Digital odometers use a toothed wheel mounted to the output of the transmission and a magnetic sensor that counts the pulses as each tooth of the wheel goes by. Some cars use a slotted wheel and an optical pickup, like a computer mouse does. The computer in the car knows how much distance the car travels with each pulse, and uses this to update the odometer reading.

    If needed I can go into more detail about they work but hopefully this explains it enough.

  6. #6
    expensive tires az gt eater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    phoenix
    Posts
    1,951

    white
    04 2500 4x4 crew cab

    Changed your cluster out? Or is this theory? I've changed mine.

  7. #7
    Senior Member JayTA98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    3,351

    Mean Black
    1998 Trans Am

    the computer keeps the mileage. If you swap the clusters it will show the current mileage from the PCM.

  8. #8
    Moderator 98TransAmWs-6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    3,596

    Black/ Silver
    98 TA WS6/ 01 C5 Corvette

    Quote Originally Posted by az gt eater View Post
    Changed your cluster out? Or is this theory? I've changed mine.
    If it reset for you I think you didn't do something right. Mechanical odometers have the mileage stored in the cluster. Digital odometers just reflect what the computer tells it. It's not theory it's fact.

  9. #9
    Senior Member SteveCZ28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Greene, Iowa
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,707

    Red
    99 Chevrolet Camaro Z-28

    so if i swapped a pcm out, my mileage would be whats on that pcm????

  10. #10
    Member 666ws6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Age
    44
    Posts
    427

    NBM
    2000 Trans Am Ws6 #2946

    I don't think mileage is in the PCM, it must be in some other controller. I've swapped my PCM many times, never had any odo changes.

    Interested to hear from others on this, I'm curious now too.

  11. #11
    Electrical Engineer KMdef9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    North of the Motorcity
    Posts
    2,611

    Custom Swirly Black
    2001 WS6 M6

    Quote Originally Posted by 98TransAmWs-6 View Post
    This should help clear up anyone who doesn't understand how they work:

    Digital odometers use a toothed wheel mounted to the output of the transmission and a magnetic sensor that counts the pulses as each tooth of the wheel goes by. Some cars use a slotted wheel and an optical pickup, like a computer mouse does. The computer in the car knows how much distance the car travels with each pulse, and uses this to update the odometer reading.

    If needed I can go into more detail about they work but hopefully this explains it enough.
    Yup, it's also how ABS and traction control work.
    Quote Originally Posted by 666ws6 View Post
    I don't think mileage is in the PCM, it must be in some other controller. I've swapped my PCM many times, never had any odo changes.

    Interested to hear from others on this, I'm curious now too.
    Wouldn't shock me if it's a hidden module, so it isn't so easy to "lower" your mileage.

  12. #12
    its short but its skinny. jiveass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    The Woodlands/spring/houston
    Posts
    2,142

    pewter
    99 trans am

    i believe its a team effort between the pcm and the computer thats in the cluster....if it was purely the pcm, the odometer would change if you swapped pcm...theres probably a few other things in the mix that will correspond with the info too..

  13. #13
    Senior Member SteveCZ28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Greene, Iowa
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,707

    Red
    99 Chevrolet Camaro Z-28

    well being as i couldnt get a clear straight forward answer from anyone, i went ahead and asked a buddy of mine of whom has another camaro. i pulled his gauge cluster, and mine, and swapped....hear is the answer i was looking for:

    the gauge cluster holds the mileage.
    example: if you swap out a gauge cluster from a car that say has 129k, and put it in your car, your car will now read 129k.....

    so yea, now that is out there, and maybe someone can read this and have a for sure answer....now i can buy another gauge cluster to put my overlays in and not have to worry

  14. #14
    expensive tires az gt eater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    phoenix
    Posts
    1,951

    white
    04 2500 4x4 crew cab

    I spoke from experience. Thanks for the update.

  15. #15
    Senior Member SteveCZ28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Greene, Iowa
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,707

    Red
    99 Chevrolet Camaro Z-28

    yea i wasnt believing anything anyone was saying as there were too many different answers. so i fugured the only way to find out is try...glad i did. now i can move forward lol

  16. #16
    Senior Member JayTA98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    3,351

    Mean Black
    1998 Trans Am

    I spoke from other experiences from other cars but never from this one. So I was wrong and I learned something new today from you guys. Thanks for the update as well. I'm glad that you actually tried yourself and got the answer that you were looking for. Good job.

  17. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Santa Maria, California
    Posts
    68

    Black
    1998 Pontiac Formula LS6

    I think I remember accessing my ECM with Autotap and the mileage shows up there. I would think that the instrument panel would be subordinate to the ECM.

  18. #18
    Senior Member JayTA98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    3,351

    Mean Black
    1998 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr_Rich View Post
    I think I remember accessing my ECM with Autotap and the mileage shows up there. I would think that the instrument panel would be subordinate to the ECM.
    thats what my knowledge has been but the OP just swap it out and confirmed the mileage followed the cluster... I never done it in our cars. it doesnt make sense from what I know but again I never done it so I have to give it the benefit of the doubt when someone tell us that he just did it.

  19. #19
    Moderator Cutlass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    6,998

    1999 Formula WS6 M6-sold
    2001 Silverado Z71

    Yep. Miles is stored in the cluster on an F-body. To keep the correct miles reading, you'd have to go through a GM authorized electronics rebuilder.

  20. #20
    Something Diabolical... chuckie669's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    2,677
    2000 C5 Torch Red

    My pickup truck cluster failed. Sent it to a speedo repair place in florida and he reprogrammed the cluster with the mileage that was off the broken chip memory.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. temp gauge isnt working and dash cluster question
    By laserredgt in forum General Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-06-2010, 07:09 PM
  2. Question about gauge cluster...
    By Brad(WS/Z0.6) in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 01-18-2009, 07:03 PM
  3. wtb 98 gauge cluster for t/a
    By outtacontrol750 in forum Parts Wanted / Trade
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-08-2008, 08:26 AM
  4. Gauge cluster.
    By 20WS601 in forum General Help
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-08-2008, 08:57 AM
  5. What SS gauge cluster is this ?
    By jclm24v in forum Camaro / SS
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-15-2006, 09:40 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •