Results 1 to 6 of 6

Factory amp location!

This is a discussion on Factory amp location! within the Stereo and Electronics forums, part of the General Help category; Hello All! I have a 94 Z28 with a Bose/AC Delco system. I just replaced the Factory head unit. With ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    3

    Black
    1994 Z28 Camaro

    Talking Factory amp location!

    Hello All!
    I have a 94 Z28 with a Bose/AC Delco system. I just replaced the Factory head unit. With a aftermarket radio I also used a line converter for the factory amp. Now I have a Buzz in my driver front Door speaker. I would like to find the amp and trouble shoot the problem. Does anyone know where the amp location is located? Thanks Charles!

  2. #2
    Senior Member Danger731's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    6,712
    Maybe by the spare tire l

  3. #3
    eBay aDdict™ blindxeyed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    50

    Sebring Silver Metallic
    1995 Pontiac Firebird

    If you're talking about your 94 Camaro, then it's behind the sail panel right next to the rear passenger seat.

  4. #4
    Senior Member bigrondownhiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Orange County, NY
    Age
    42
    Posts
    2,674

    Black
    1996 Camaro Z28 vert

    Check all connections. It sounds like a wire is loose.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    3

    Black
    1994 Z28 Camaro

    Cool Factory Amp Location

    Thanks to all who left me great input on my situation! I am still trouble shooting at the moment. I will let you all know the problem when I correct it. This is a great and helpful site. Thanks

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    3

    Black
    1994 Z28 Camaro

    Thumbs up Factory Amp

    Thanks again to all that left suggestions. After looking deeper. I found out that the each speaker has its own small amp attached too it. So I removed the amps from each of the door speakers and wired it direct to the speaker. the harness that attaches to the amp has 4 wires running to it. There are two wires that are a smaller gauge than the other two. Those are the signal wires from the head unit the other two were the Pos/Neg for the amp.With splicing into the signal wires i saved myself a lot of time of running new wires. I hope this helps out anyone trying to by pass the amps in the factory system to install a aftermarket system. Thanks Charles!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Location
    By bsteff in forum General Help
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-29-2011, 08:24 PM
  2. monsoon factory amp location
    By 98_Ws6_scooter in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-20-2007, 03:23 PM
  3. VIN Location
    By Gleomyr in forum General Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-15-2007, 05:30 PM
  4. sub location
    By 1st TA in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-13-2006, 09:36 AM
  5. best location for bov/ sts kit
    By crazycat in forum Forced Induction
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-21-2006, 11:23 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •