Results 1 to 11 of 11

Dual Battery Setup?

This is a discussion on Dual Battery Setup? within the Stereo and Electronics forums, part of the General Help category; I did a search and can't find anything. I am having a problem with my aftermarket system eating up alternators ...

  1. #1
    Senior Member transamprincess98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Land of Gas Refineries
    Age
    38
    Posts
    3,571

    Light Tarnished Silver
    STS-V

    Dual Battery Setup?

    I did a search and can't find anything. I am having a problem with my aftermarket system eating up alternators and batteries. Anyone install a second battery just to power up their system? Where did you install? Any pics? Do they make an inverter of some sort for cars? I know these maybe be dumb questions, but I am not very good with electronics of any sort. I normally just bring my car to the audio place, but they seem to not have a clue what I am talking about now.

    My current set up I have 2 amps in my well, the Q logic box over top of them so my hatch space is limited. Any other ideas would be appreciated also.

  2. #2
    Impounded MikeSomething's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Old Bridge, NJ
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,420

    Pewter Metallic
    '00 Z/28

    If you look on eBay, they make a battery relocation box/kit so you can mount a battery in the trunk area, concealed in a box. You can also look at "Mini Batteries" in most audio stores which serve the same purpose as "Capacitors".

  3. #3
    Member Jetblak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Willoughby,Ohio
    Age
    35
    Posts
    117

    Black on Black
    2000 Trans Am Ws6

    Quote Originally Posted by transamprincess98 View Post
    I did a search and can't find anything. I am having a problem with my aftermarket system eating up alternators and batteries. Anyone install a second battery just to power up their system? Where did you install? Any pics? Do they make an inverter of some sort for cars? I know these maybe be dumb questions, but I am not very good with electronics of any sort. I normally just bring my car to the audio place, but they seem to not have a clue what I am talking about now.

    My current set up I have 2 amps in my well, the Q logic box over top of them so my hatch space is limited. Any other ideas would be appreciated also.
    Also a battery isolator would be great so u can sit some where and keep system battery on but car battery is still separated so u dont kill it showing off your sounds... Plus the second battery as well
    Last edited by Jetblak; 10-29-2006 at 06:46 PM. Reason: forgot one thing

  4. #4
    Nitrous Tuner LS2Tuner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    WestCoast AZ-CALI
    Posts
    4,763

    Silver
    05 Goat SMASHED

    If you have ever wired in a "cap" alot of people use a batt. in the exact same way........You can wire it in the trunk or hatch in the same way as a cap.....If you have "real" power wire running to the amp the alt. will feed the batt. just fine.
    Don't be afraid of the bottle!!! Be afraid of your tune!!!

  5. #5
    Senior Member transamprincess98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Land of Gas Refineries
    Age
    38
    Posts
    3,571

    Light Tarnished Silver
    STS-V

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Nitrous Tuner LS2Tuner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    WestCoast AZ-CALI
    Posts
    4,763

    Silver
    05 Goat SMASHED

    No problem they are alot safer than a cap also........
    I usually use a Optima for a shit box Honda.......
    They are small size wise and are sealed so even if it tipps over there is no batt. acid to spill.

  7. #7
    Member Phlash_riot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    San Diego
    Age
    38
    Posts
    397

    Midnight Blue
    1999 T/A

    You alternator is dying because it is trying to keep up with the Amperage load of the Amplifier. When it cannot produce enough amp the voltage drops and that is was it causing the problems. The circuits are gettign so overloaded they can't keep up and you loose voltage. Adding in a battery would help a bit. But i would seriously not recommend it unless you already have a Capasitor in the wiring.

    My suggestion would be to get a 1Farad Capacitor and wire it near the amplifier. What it does it when the BASE HITs it supplys a tremendous amount of amperage(capacitors inherintly want to keep a consant. to keep that constant the have a huge discharge curve) to the amp then chrage up for the next one... think of them like a buffer

    If you have a amp that puts out 1 unit(unit is for ease of understanding) per secound and the amp draws 2 units every two secounds you have more draw every 2 secounds than what the alternator can put out. so every two secounds you have a surge which requirements cannot be met.
    Then you throw in a capacitor wich takes that 1 unit a secound form the alternatopr and stores it up. When the amp draws its 2 units the capacitor says ok and discharges then starts the charge "cycle again.

    Obviously there is more power involved and this all happens at the speed of light instead of secounds but you get the picture... It like the spark plug coild packs the charge up a huge amount, in this case voltage charge) and this quicky discharge when needed. Obviously the battery and alternator in your car cannot handle this requirement so hence the coil packs.

    Hope this help you out a bit and gives you a somewhat of an idea of what it does.

    If you have any questions about this let me know. I have done a few stereo installs in my time and i am sure that there alot of other here that have as well.

    G/L

  8. #8
    Member Phlash_riot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    San Diego
    Age
    38
    Posts
    397

    Midnight Blue
    1999 T/A

    Quote Originally Posted by LS2Tuner View Post
    No problem they are alot safer than a cap also........
    I usually use a Optima for a shit box Honda.......
    They are small size wise and are sealed so even if it tipps over there is no batt. acid to spill.
    they are only unsafe if you have the leads exposed to something say like your hand...OUCH if you make that connection for it

    Optima batteries are great battery but not just because of the spill resistance. lots of batteries have the ability to be on thier sides and what not but the optima has, for its size, a better Amp/Hr rating.

  9. #9
    Nitrous Tuner LS2Tuner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    WestCoast AZ-CALI
    Posts
    4,763

    Silver
    05 Goat SMASHED

    Quote Originally Posted by Phlash_riot View Post
    they are only unsafe if you have the leads exposed to something say like your hand...OUCH if you make that connection for it

    Optima batteries are great battery but not just because of the spill resistance. lots of batteries have the ability to be on thier sides and what not but the optima has, for its size, a better Amp/Hr rating.
    correct have you seen any cap get grounded out and explode...I have and it is VERY powerful.It made a 2" nipple in the quater panel.
    Most caps today are jap junk anyways.....A quick way to tell is by the weight of them. When you go to purchase one pick up a couple of different brands of the same size and see the drastic difference.

  10. #10
    Member Phlash_riot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    San Diego
    Age
    38
    Posts
    397

    Midnight Blue
    1999 T/A

    they only explode when you let out the magic smoke inside them :P

  11. #11
    Nitrous Tuner LS2Tuner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    WestCoast AZ-CALI
    Posts
    4,763

    Silver
    05 Goat SMASHED

    Magic Smoke.....

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. True Dual setup
    By JonintheRedZ28 in forum External Engine
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 07-23-2007, 09:11 AM
  2. Performace of a True Dual Setup?
    By LS1SSZ28 in forum External Engine
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-11-2007, 03:38 PM
  3. 2OTL new OEM SLP muffler $275 CME new OEM dual / dual setup $775
    By 2003Firehawk in forum Parts For Sale / Trade
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-05-2007, 01:39 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-05-2007, 04:06 PM
  5. 02 LS1 Dual Fan Setup
    By damiano1 in forum Parts For Sale / Trade
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-03-2006, 04:08 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •