Results 1 to 9 of 9

AVIC-N2 Navigation System

This is a discussion on AVIC-N2 Navigation System within the Stereo and Electronics forums, part of the General Help category; I just recently purchased a pioneer avic-n2 and was wondering the best place to tap in the VSS wire for ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member Handyman401's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Troy, MO
    Age
    49
    Posts
    27

    Pewter
    2000 Firehawk

    AVIC-N2 Navigation System

    I just recently purchased a pioneer avic-n2 and was wondering the best place to tap in the VSS wire for navigation. I'm installing it in a 2000 Firehawk.

  2. #2
    Junior Member krisb410's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    23

    Red
    1991 Camaro

    There is a speed wire in the factory radio harness. That's how the automatic volume controls works on the stock radio.

  3. #3
    Auto Painter RyanJM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Age
    41
    Posts
    2,002

    White
    1998 Trans Am

    I wouldn't do it. Then it doesn't let you do as much while you drive. i have the speed disabled on my Eclipse. I can watch dvd's and use all the nav features as well.
    1998 Trans Am 85k miles.
    Bolt ons, MS3 113LSA cam, Circle D Stall, Tune, Modified WS6 style hood, Full Suspension, 6000k HID's, Clear Side Markers w/ Leds, Led 3rd Brake Light and 18" AR Staggered Killer Wheels w/ BFG KDW NT's.- Weekend Toy/DD
    02 Trailblazer -Sold
    09 Ram 1500 CC - Sold
    09 Cobalt SS/TC - Sold
    13 ram 1500 LoneStar CC 4x4 - Magnaflow, K&N,and more to come-DD/Toy

  4. #4
    Junior Member krisb410's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    23

    Red
    1991 Camaro

    Quote Originally Posted by RyanJM View Post
    I wouldn't do it. Then it doesn't let you do as much while you drive. i have the speed disabled on my Eclipse. I can watch dvd's and use all the nav features as well.
    The speed sensing wire has nothing to do with the "saftey" features on the Pionner N2. Even if he doesn't hook up that wire, it will still not play DVD's on the go. The by-pass is really easy. Check out www.avic411.com for the specifics.

  5. #5
    Junior Member showstoppata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    savannah ga
    Age
    47
    Posts
    16

    red
    2001 trans am

    i don't mean to sound stupid but i just orderd the double din bezel for my 2001 trans am. when i was at the local radio shop looking at radios the guy asked if i wanted to hook up the VSS and i said no because i didn't know what it was. so my question is what features do you get by hooking the VSS up?

  6. #6
    Junior Member krisb410's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    23

    Red
    1991 Camaro

    http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PU.../AVIC-N2?tab=D

    According to the installation manual (page 11):

    "Car speed input wire is connected to detect the distance the vehicle travels. Always connect the speed detection circuit or the ND-PG1 speed pulse generator, sold separately. Failure to make this connection will increase errors in the location display."

    Also read pages 110 to 114 in the Operations manual. It explains in detail how the GPS and the 3D hybrid sensor (which is the speed pulse, G sensor, and the gyrosensor) work together.

    All I know is uses the speed signal to increase the accuracy of the display. It learns your car. The more your drive your car, the more accurate the display is. It also has a wire to tap into the reverse signal so it knows when your backing up. All to get the display more accurate. I've noticed that mine is getting more accurate the more I drive it.

    The AVIC-N2 also has a different display mode that has vehicle dynamic gauges. Like speedometer, voltage, acceleration, side acceleration, angular velocity, slope, compass, and a clock. Which requires the speed wire to be hooked up.
    Last edited by krisb410; 04-14-2009 at 04:48 PM.

  7. #7
    Senior Member bigrondownhiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Orange County, NY
    Age
    42
    Posts
    2,674

    Black
    1996 Camaro Z28 vert

    Pioneer is easy to bypass so you can watch dvd's while driving, although it is illegal. Just ground the wire that goes to the ebrake.

  8. #8
    Junior Member krisb410's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    23

    Red
    1991 Camaro

    Quote Originally Posted by bigrondownhiller View Post
    Pioneer is easy to bypass so you can watch dvd's while driving, although it is illegal. Just ground the wire that goes to the ebrake.
    That's wrong!!!!!! (well sort of, you do have to ground the ebrake wire. But there's more to it.)
    www.avic411.com has the proper way to bypass Pioneer units. (already posted the link a few posts up)

  9. #9
    Junior Member Blu2000ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Htown, MD
    Posts
    8

    NBM
    2000 SS

    I have my avic bypassed and the vss is hooked up. I can watch dvds while driving and the "gauges" that it has works fine(speedometer)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 01-19-2008, 11:14 PM
  2. Pionner AVIC-D1 Double DIN GPS DVD Navigation System!!
    By L3THAL_Z28 in forum General Classifieds
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 01-17-2008, 09:22 PM
  3. Pioneer Avic-N4 Navigation System
    By Ed Blown Vert in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-26-2007, 10:20 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •