Results 1 to 5 of 5

amp won't turn on/And post stereo pics

This is a discussion on amp won't turn on/And post stereo pics within the Stereo and Electronics forums, part of the General Help category; Bought new system put it in yesterday i got Yellow top optima dry cell battery, 6.5 inc. alpine type R ...

  1. #1
    Member izzhemp's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Osawatomie KS
    Age
    28
    Posts
    324

    white/Black
    1999 Pontiac Firebird

    amp won't turn on/And post stereo pics

    Bought new system put it in yesterday i got Yellow top optima dry cell battery, 6.5 inc. alpine type R component system, Alpine MRP-1000 (1000 Watt Mono block amp) And a 12 inc. Alpine type X sub, and built box myself. That's the new now heres what i already had to go with it 4 gauge 3OOO watt amp wiring kit ( less than year old) 6.5 inc. Alpine type S coaxial door speakers which are in Bak seat now since i got better ones, and an Alpine CDE flip face head unit that i got in 2OO6. Now i hooked it all up turned on my car to see if it work the power light came on on the amp i got out went Bak to hatch looked at everything checked wires for tightness then realized i forgot to turn sub woofer settings on head unit up, got Bak in adjusted base treble (the whole time volume been on like 5) and then the sub woofer, i then turned up stereo nothing but door speakers got out went to hatch amp power light was off. After many hours an cigarettes later i had re ran RCA wires and remote wire with three different sets nothing happened moved ground wire checked all fuses and connections, checked wires goin from head unit to wiring harness and still nothing. so what could be the problem? i think either head unit just not sendin RCA connection or remote signal any more, or im missin somethin stupid. so any thoughts would help. And id like to see some pics of your systems members see what your bumpin with and what unique an custom things You've got done ill post mine later when i take some pictures thank you

  2. #2
    Moderator 35th-ANV-SS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wherever life takes me
    Posts
    12,465

    Red
    02 35th LE Camaro SS

    Sounds like you checked everything that I would have checked:

    - Fuses in the amp
    - RCA connections are solid / wires are good
    - Remote wire is connected good / remote wire is good
    - Ground wire is connected good and has a solid mounting spot to the chassis
    - Power wire coming from the battery or the distribution block is connected good

    Do you have another amp that you can swap out with the one that isn't working? That would tell you right then and there is the amp is bad.

  3. #3
    Member izzhemp's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Osawatomie KS
    Age
    28
    Posts
    324

    white/Black
    1999 Pontiac Firebird

    well see i sold my old stero and 2 days before so this had happened to it aswell randomly there was no signal getting to amp the power light would glow red when no signal was being recived we took out amp an subs put in his truck they worked just fine now i got my new stero the problem still is here, and we hooked amp up in friends truck its fine, myabe the rca and/or remote wire coming from head unit shorted out and wont send signal now, is there way to test RCA and remoted to see of there getting power ran threw them at all

  4. #4
    Moderator 35th-ANV-SS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wherever life takes me
    Posts
    12,465

    Red
    02 35th LE Camaro SS

    You can check the terminal at the amp lead with an ohm meter. That would be the only way I can think of.

    From your last post, my guess is either a bad set of RCA's or a bad remote wire. I would start with the remote wire since that's the cheapest.

    Also, a bad ground would make the power be intermittent like that also.

  5. #5
    Electrical Engineer KMdef9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    North of the Motorcity
    Posts
    2,611

    Custom Swirly Black
    2001 WS6 M6

    Quote Originally Posted by 35th-ANV-SS View Post
    Also, a bad ground would make the power be intermittent like that also.
    This.

    Contact cleaner is always good, sandpaper or a file are ok and alittle grinding is the best.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Stop asking for Pics! This is the reason i won't post pics.
    By Murder after Midnight in forum Almost Anything Goes
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-26-2015, 11:11 PM
  2. Post some awesome pics/quotes like these (pics)
    By 86 IROC-Z in forum Almost Anything Goes
    Replies: 97
    Last Post: 09-22-2010, 01:29 PM
  3. Pics of Turn Signal Flasher
    By weberje in forum General Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-11-2010, 07:30 PM
  4. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-08-2007, 10:18 AM
  5. Turn signal w/ pics
    By rajiv1998 in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-06-2007, 05:42 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •