Results 1 to 11 of 11

add an auxicilary fuse box inside under the da

This is a discussion on add an auxicilary fuse box inside under the da within the Stereo and Electronics forums, part of the General Help category; I'm wanting to add an auxicilary fuse box inside car under the dash so I can have an independant circuit ...

  1. #1
    Member qwik219d9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Atlanta, GA,Ft.Walton Bch,FL
    Posts
    411

    silver
    99 ws6

    add an auxicilary fuse box inside under the da

    I'm wanting to add an auxicilary fuse box inside car under the dash so I can have an independant circuit for my trans. temp, fuel preasure wide band guages, radar detector an near future DC/AC inverter & radar scambler.

    I allready have a #2 AWG power wire from battery to my rear stereo amps.

    ? can I just splice into this #2AWG power wire w/ a #8 wire for a small auxicilary fuse box?

    I drew a diagram of the plan. will this work? am I missing anything?

    I was planning on picking up a small fusebox maybe a F-body side dash type at the junk yard and a brand new relay, for this project.

    any helpfull tips is apreciated.




    I'm confussed on why is constant +12V required when I have switched +12V ?

  2. #2
    Senior Member bigrondownhiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Orange County, NY
    Age
    42
    Posts
    2,674

    Black
    1996 Camaro Z28 vert

    Just use one of these. http://www.jegs.com/i/Painless-Perfo...oductId=750150. Run the power seperate off the battery.

  3. #3
    ʢ ൧ ൨ ൩ ൪ ൫ ൬ ൭ ൮Ր Ց Ւ Փ Smittro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    9,965

    White
    2008 Hummer H3

    Quote Originally Posted by qwik219d9 View Post
    I'm wanting to add an auxicilary fuse box inside car under the dash so I can have an independant circuit for my trans. temp, fuel preasure wide band guages, radar detector an near future DC/AC inverter & radar scambler.

    I allready have a #2 AWG power wire from battery to my rear stereo amps.

    ? can I just splice into this #2AWG power wire w/ a #8 wire for a small auxicilary fuse box?

    I drew a diagram of the plan. will this work? am I missing anything?

    I was planning on picking up a small fusebox maybe a F-body side dash type at the junk yard and a brand new relay, for this project.

    any helpfull tips is apreciated.


    Click for full size

    I'm confussed on why is constant +12V required when I have switched +12V ?

  4. #4
    Member qwik219d9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Atlanta, GA,Ft.Walton Bch,FL
    Posts
    411

    silver
    99 ws6

    extra fuse block

    Quote Originally Posted by bigrondownhiller View Post
    Just use one of these. http://www.jegs.com/i/Painless-Perfo...oductId=750150. Run the power seperate off the battery.
    nice suggestion bigrondownhiller I crusied by the auto store Saturday expecting to check out an auxicliary fuse block none where available.

    you're suggestion is excellent however kindof pricie.

    What do you think of.

    I was planning on picking up a small fusebox maybe a F-body side dash type at the junk yard and a brand new relay, for this project.


    Thanks


    Quote Originally Posted by Smittro View Post
    I don't understand what you are attemping to say.

    Thanks anyway I guess.

  5. #5
    Senior Member bigrondownhiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Orange County, NY
    Age
    42
    Posts
    2,674

    Black
    1996 Camaro Z28 vert

    You can use an auxilary fuse block from the junkyard if you want. You will have a bunch of extra fuses. If price is an issue you could get some inline fuses and just run them from the relay to what you need power for.

  6. #6
    Member qwik219d9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Atlanta, GA,Ft.Walton Bch,FL
    Posts
    411

    silver
    99 ws6

    Quote Originally Posted by bigrondownhiller View Post
    You can use an auxilary fuse block from the junkyard if you want. You will have a bunch of extra fuses. If price is an issue you could get some inline fuses and just run them from the relay to what you need power for.
    this is what I have now minus the third guage ? will the third guage exceed the current limit requireing a relay?


    this is relay minus the aux. fuse box.



    I'm concidering doing this adding the wide band to the cigarette lighter circuit


    I'm still confused on why constant +12V when I have the switched +12V

    Thanks
    Last edited by qwik219d9; 06-30-2010 at 01:47 AM.

  7. #7
    Senior Member bigrondownhiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Orange County, NY
    Age
    42
    Posts
    2,674

    Black
    1996 Camaro Z28 vert

    You need to find the amp draw for everything you are going to add. If you have an extra spot open in the fuse block the most I would pull is 15 amps. You would have to check what gauge wire came into the block at that point. The switched power is just to turn on the relay. Everything gets its power from the constant feed.

  8. #8
    Member qwik219d9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Atlanta, GA,Ft.Walton Bch,FL
    Posts
    411

    silver
    99 ws6

    another aux.spot on stock fuse box?

    I would say I'm at my 15amp limit on the aux. port on the side fuse box inside car. for switched +12V w/ 2 guages & a radar detector.

    when you say 15amps is a limit is that for both the constant +12V and switched +12v?

    is there another aux. spot maybe inside the engine fuse boxs?

    or should I jump a circuit like the cigarette lighter for the switched +12V and just tap into the big +12V #2AWG power wire for the stereo amps for constant +12V ?

    I've got the W/B guage mounted & grounded need to resolve the +12V

    I'll post an image.
    Last edited by qwik219d9; 07-01-2010 at 11:34 PM.

  9. #9
    Senior Member bigrondownhiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Orange County, NY
    Age
    42
    Posts
    2,674

    Black
    1996 Camaro Z28 vert

    I wouldnt tap into the amp wire. You can look for another open space in the fuse block. The switched 12+ has nothing to do with the load. It is just activating the relay. All the load on the circuit is on the constant. Have you looked at the underhood fuse box to see if there is an open circuit? Might have a heavier gauge wire going to it. Then you could run everything off one circuit.

  10. #10
    Member qwik219d9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Atlanta, GA,Ft.Walton Bch,FL
    Posts
    411

    silver
    99 ws6

    air pump circuit engine fuse box unused ? on W/B

    I have removed my air pump so I'll check into using this circuit for my wide band switched +12V then just twist the switched and the constant together for the +12V power supply.

    I've done a little research and found out 14.7 is prefect A/F ratio however real life is not prefect.
    ? that been said what should I expect from my new W/B guage display in idel,part throttle & WOT?

    I'm thinking if the display stays around the 11-1 o clock position at WOT the tune is good? sorry to sound like a complete noob this is my first WB I'm planning on having my tune be prefected by a expert this time.



    I'm also curious of what to expect in conditions other than WOT will it jump around like the turd of a narrow band I had?

    and at idel & a steadie part throttle cruise speed will it stay contant?

  11. #11
    Member qwik219d9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Atlanta, GA,Ft.Walton Bch,FL
    Posts
    411

    silver
    99 ws6

    air pump circuit

    any thoughts on using the air pump circuit for a +12v switched & constant
    +12V power supply for my wide band?

    I'm thinking this circuit will work because dosn't the air pump only come on w/ ignition on?

    Thanks
    cam-LTs-FAST78-Susp.-Rims

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-01-2014, 05:26 PM
  2. fuse ????
    By z28_81 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-13-2010, 01:46 PM
  3. WTB Inside fuse box cover...
    By Liveforfunjim in forum Parts Wanted / Trade
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-26-2007, 07:49 PM
  4. Fuse Box
    By 1 badblack transam 01 in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-17-2006, 03:06 PM
  5. ENG SEN fuse
    By ss~zoso~ss in forum Camaro / SS
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-04-2005, 04:51 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •