Results 1 to 15 of 15

1.5 din head unit?

This is a discussion on 1.5 din head unit? within the Stereo and Electronics forums, part of the General Help category; i am replacing the system in my ws6, and have been looking around for 1.5 din head units. is pioneer ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member fastws6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    nj
    Age
    44
    Posts
    13

    red
    02 ws6

    1.5 din head unit?

    i am replacing the system in my ws6, and have been looking around for 1.5 din head units. is pioneer the only one? who else makes them that are any good. Happy holidays everyone

  2. #2
    Senior Member predator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Little Rock, Arkansas
    Age
    34
    Posts
    2,256
    1966 Corvette Coupe

    there are a few out there... Dual has one... jensen... you know junk... dont worry with it... just get a normal size and get a plate or do some fiberglass work...

  3. #3
    Rock-n-Roller White Rascal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    OHIO Go Buckeyes!
    Posts
    539

    Arctic White
    '07 Trailblazer LT

    Alpine used to make them. Pioneer might still be making them.

    This is my solution to the problem...
    The White Rascal SOLD
    Crank up the drums, crank up the bass,
    Crank up my Les Paul in your face!

  4. #4
    Junior Member fastws6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    nj
    Age
    44
    Posts
    13

    red
    02 ws6

    rascal who makes that trim plate, i like the look it doesnt seam to look to small with that trim.

  5. #5
    Rock-n-Roller White Rascal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    OHIO Go Buckeyes!
    Posts
    539

    Arctic White
    '07 Trailblazer LT

    Mike (DJSexay) over at F-Body Audio made a few of them a while back. You'll have to check with him to see if he still has any left.

  6. #6
    Junior Member 01 Red WS6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Arlington Texas
    Age
    34
    Posts
    80

    Red
    2001 Trans Am

    I have an Alpine one from back when they made them. I don't think they were that popular though

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Age
    41
    Posts
    30

    Navy Blue Metallic
    1998 Trans Am

    I replaced my 1.5 DIN Alpine HU with a Sony CDX-M9905X because the stupid thing was dying on me. When I was shopping I noticed that Pioneer's player was not only fugly (imo) but also hadn't been changed or updated in well over 5 years. I was pleasantly surprised at how clean the flush mounting kit looks.

    You can see a pic below

    theplanetgallifrey.net/gallery/gal/2004/09272004_swcontrols/IMG_2395.jpg

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Age
    41
    Posts
    30

    Navy Blue Metallic
    1998 Trans Am

    (Sorry, vbulletin wouldn't let me directly link the image until I post 10 posts! OMG

  9. #9
    Member graphicsgod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Orlando, Fl.
    Posts
    440
    1999 Chevy Camaro

    Quote Originally Posted by TheDoc
    I replaced my 1.5 DIN Alpine HU with a Sony CDX-M9905X because the stupid thing was dying on me. When I was shopping I noticed that Pioneer's player was not only fugly (imo) but also hadn't been changed or updated in well over 5 years. I was pleasantly surprised at how clean the flush mounting kit looks.

    You can see a pic below

    theplanetgallifrey.net/gallery/gal/2004/09272004_swcontrols/IMG_2395.jpg

    That looks sweet! Wish it came in a double din options.

    I love my pioneer. I wish it had more options, but it offers Sat. radio, which is all I really need. I might upgrade to a touch screen in the future.





    Rob

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Age
    41
    Posts
    30

    Navy Blue Metallic
    1998 Trans Am

    Talking

    I always liked the Pioneer 1.5DIN units but I sure wish they'd update that thing. I never did care for the display. A touch screen would be sweet for sure but I use the steering wheel controls way more than the ones on the HU anyway

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Vienna WV
    Age
    43
    Posts
    194

    Silver
    98 Trans Am

    They dont play mp3's either correct?

  12. #12
    ruff ruff rotwiler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    WA State
    Age
    51
    Posts
    481

    LT's, 3400 stall, FIPK,CB
    2002 Z28

    I've always wanted a 1.5 din too, but none are available except the really cheap brands or the Pioneer that has been around since the late 90's.

  13. #13
    quicky06
    Guest
    i have a pioneer that the prevois owner did a crappy install on.

    it currently has nopthing holding it in place because i cant find a mounting kit.

    graphics god- what are you using to hold that in place?

  14. #14
    Member graphicsgod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Orlando, Fl.
    Posts
    440
    1999 Chevy Camaro

    Quote Originally Posted by quicky06
    i have a pioneer that the prevois owner did a crappy install on.

    it currently has nopthing holding it in place because i cant find a mounting kit.

    graphics god- what are you using to hold that in place?

    The mounting brackets that came in the box, what else .

    So are you saying the stereo is just "loose" in there?! Thats messed up. I'd either call Pioneer or Crutchfield and see if they can send you the kit for your car.

    Rob

  15. #15
    quicky06
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by graphicsgod
    The mounting brackets that came in the box, what else .

    So are you saying the stereo is just "loose" in there?! Thats messed up. I'd either call Pioneer or Crutchfield and see if they can send you the kit for your car.

    Rob
    yea its just loose. but i dont want to pay too much cuz i plan on replacing the hvac and radio with a touch screen hooked to a computer

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Head Unit
    By ta02dan in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-17-2011, 10:32 AM
  2. Question: New head unit
    By derekbuckner1 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-03-2011, 08:28 PM
  3. New Head unit
    By tomz28 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-03-2009, 02:29 PM
  4. Stock Head Unit System or install custom head unit?
    By ibh182 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-16-2007, 10:43 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •