Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

To tune or not To tune

This is a discussion on To tune or not To tune within the GTO forums, part of the Vehicle Specific category; Guys, i installed my CAI should i have the car retuned or leave as it is?, i am planning on ...

  1. #1
    mannyGTO
    Guest

    To tune or not To tune

    Guys, i installed my CAI should i have the car retuned or leave as it is?,
    i am planning on retuning it on a dyno once i put in the headers/exhaust/roller rockers/gears but a friend of mine told me its dangerous to have the intake installed without a tune

  2. #2
    Story of My Life!! BIG D's SS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Commerce Ga
    Age
    40
    Posts
    4,995

    Black, Blue
    07 TBSS, 07 GSXR1000

    It couldn't hurt to have it tuned. I know the new Mustangs that is a requirement that they recommend.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Age
    44
    Posts
    413
    Just wait until you get the headers and the rest of your mods. Tuning for a CAI is a waste of money.
    02 TA A4
    408ci - 244/250/612/622 | PRC 237 heads | FTRA |100mm lid | FAST92/92 | Kooks 1 7/8 | Hooker CB | DMH Cutout | built trans | Yank4000 | 412 motorsports tuned | stock rear:judge:

    08 TBSS - Borla CB

  4. #4
    Grand Imperial Wizard Sarge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Texas Department of Corrections
    Posts
    18,129
    Retired Outlaw Sum Bitch

    I agree^^^^

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    222

    Impulse Blue
    2004 GTO

    Quote Originally Posted by onyx_rock
    Just wait until you get the headers and the rest of your mods. Tuning for a CAI is a waste of money.
    Not necessarily. You can pull quite a bit from a tune on a stock GTO, more than you would normally think.

    Now if your tuner is going to recharge you for every new tune, then I would wait. But if its just dyno time, then tune away
    Rob
    04 GTO
    96 WS6

  6. #6
    Grand Imperial Wizard Sarge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Texas Department of Corrections
    Posts
    18,129
    Retired Outlaw Sum Bitch

    Quote Originally Posted by Rob
    Not necessarily. You can pull quite a bit from a tune on a stock GTO, more than you would normally think.

    Now if your tuner is going to recharge you for every new tune, then I would wait. But if its just dyno time, then tune away
    Dyno tune is $400 a pop.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Zboner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    cincinnati/northern ky
    Age
    31
    Posts
    9,045

    Black
    99 SS

    why would you not have it tuned?

  8. #8
    Grand Imperial Wizard Sarge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Texas Department of Corrections
    Posts
    18,129
    Retired Outlaw Sum Bitch

    I'm saying....dont dyno tune it until you have your other mods on it...hell he can just pull the fuse and let his computer relearn the new CAI for nothing.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Zboner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    cincinnati/northern ky
    Age
    31
    Posts
    9,045

    Black
    99 SS

    but to get the max power out of it get it tuned when all is said and done

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    222

    Impulse Blue
    2004 GTO

    Quote Originally Posted by Sarge
    Dyno tune is $400 a pop.
    Then they are crooks. You shouldn't have to pay for a complete retune when you add bolt ons. Most good tuners will only charge dyno time for a cam change. Mine only charges for another tune when you add nitrous or boost.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    222

    Impulse Blue
    2004 GTO

    Quote Originally Posted by Sarge
    I'm saying....dont dyno tune it until you have your other mods on it...hell he can just pull the fuse and let his computer relearn the new CAI for nothing.
    That doesn't work. Well it does for a pass down the strip or quick trip down the street.

  12. #12
    Devil Yellow
    Guest
    Worked for me!

  13. #13
    Junior Member Radkon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cleveland
    Posts
    5

    Yellow
    2004 GTO

    Quote Originally Posted by Rob
    Then they are crooks. You shouldn't have to pay for a complete retune when you add bolt ons. Most good tuners will only charge dyno time for a cam change. Mine only charges for another tune when you add nitrous or boost.
    Ditto, call around. The shops around Cleveland only charge dyno time (Around $60 hr) for retunes as long as they are "small mods" intake and exhaust mainly. If you swap cams, heads or go forced induction you'll get a bigger bill though.

    If I were paying for it I wouldn't bother with a tune until I was done modding or got to a point where it wasn't drivable anymore (cam and heads) for instance.

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    11

    Blue
    2004 GTO

    Quote Originally Posted by onyx_rock
    Just wait until you get the headers and the rest of your mods. Tuning for a CAI is a waste of money.
    ditto

  15. #15
    Junior Member Apostle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Deer Park, TX
    Age
    52
    Posts
    8

    Red / White
    05 C6 & 98 T/A

    I got a tune from MTI here in Houston about a year ago and picked up 14 rwhp and 14 rwtq for $350. Retunes are $75.00. I asked at that time if I would need to get a retune if I added a CAI or a Cat-back and Jason told me it wouldn't be necessary, the computer would adjust. I think it was a pretty good investment, especially for future mods.

  16. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Age
    37
    Posts
    8

    Red
    2005 GTO

    So is just a tune a good investment? I would like to do something for this summer, but I don't want to drop an arm and leg. Someone told me that just a normal tune can in some instances cause the car to be slower. Any suggestions?

  17. #17
    Grand Imperial Wizard Sarge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Texas Department of Corrections
    Posts
    18,129
    Retired Outlaw Sum Bitch

    Quote Originally Posted by Rob
    Then they are crooks. You shouldn't have to pay for a complete retune when you add bolt ons. Most good tuners will only charge dyno time for a cam change. Mine only charges for another tune when you add nitrous or boost.
    I'm talking about the first one Rob...after that you can only pay $50 bucks or so....all I am saying is you can go through the OBDII relearn for a CAI mod for nothing....but at the end of the day....a dyno tune is what I recommend for lots of folks to get the factory crap out of there....when it's done or at what point is probably irrelevant in the big picture...

  18. #18
    Grand Imperial Wizard Sarge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Texas Department of Corrections
    Posts
    18,129
    Retired Outlaw Sum Bitch

    Quote Originally Posted by Rob
    That doesn't work. Well it does for a pass down the strip or quick trip down the street.
    No that exercise works for longer than a pass or two.....has for me anyway....
    I reset mine mebbe once or twice every 3-4 months....

  19. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    OC,CA
    Posts
    16

    Blue
    2006 GTO

    this is my old and new dyno numbers, no tune, do i need one???, yes, but the car is still running fine, and the cai added more hp besides having more miles now of course.

    Previous numbers with magnaflow x pipe and magnaflow mufflers: 350rwhp 350rwtq, engine had 1300 miles, Blue Line

    New numbers with magnaflow x pipe, magnaflow mufflers and LPE CAI: 366rwhp 365rwtq, engine had 5000 miles today, Red Line
    Last edited by bluegoat06; 02-16-2006 at 10:10 AM.
    2006 Impulse Blue Metallic GTO M6

  20. #20
    Grand Imperial Wizard Sarge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Texas Department of Corrections
    Posts
    18,129
    Retired Outlaw Sum Bitch

    Nice frog

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Custom tune, HP tuners, or PCMFORLESS TUNE
    By cancam99ss in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 09-29-2012, 10:09 PM
  2. Question: Frost tune or Dyno tune?
    By 90ARAPAJ in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-15-2012, 01:38 PM
  3. hypertech tune erase my dyno tune?
    By Z28LS1 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-02-2009, 07:31 PM
  4. whats the diff with a full dyno tune and a street tune?
    By Justin23454 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-04-2007, 07:31 AM
  5. Handheld Tune?shop Tune? software running on my laptop tune?on my SS
    By showtimesteele99SS in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-09-2007, 06:31 AM

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •