Results 1 to 7 of 7

Need help with codes

This is a discussion on Need help with codes within the GTO forums, part of the Vehicle Specific category; My 04 GTO is throwing the bank 1 bank 2 to rich code, ive done all the common things like ...

  1. #1
    Member ledesma54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    365

    Red
    04 GTO

    Need help with codes

    My 04 GTO is throwing the bank 1 bank 2 to rich code, ive done all the common things like unplug the battery for all night, i had a bigger maf sensor on it but i put the stock one back on and its still throwing the code. I have a diablo tune from this site, cold air, and exhaust. Thats it, anyone have any advise or will i have to take it to the dealer.

  2. #2
    Member Spieldawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    BeaverCreek OH
    Posts
    144

    Phantom Black Metallic
    2004 GTO M6

    hmm,

    I had the same code, and i ended up losing my oil cap. so the crankcase was venting past the TB.

    hmm, you haven't cleaned your Air Filter have ya?? sometimes too much oil will also mess up the MAF...

  3. #3
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    also, try taking the diablo tune off of it and see what happens. Might just need to be tweaked. Like was said, have you recently oiled your filter? Might get some MAF cleaner from a parts store and clean the MAF. I would first pull that tune out and see if that takes care of it.

  4. #4
    Member ledesma54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    365

    Red
    04 GTO

    Well i think i know what might be throwing the code i took my MAF and it doesn't have a screen on it is that a big deal, i didn't do it the person that had it before me must have took it off. Is it bad to run it rich because it seems to be running better to me.

  5. #5
    Member Spieldawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    BeaverCreek OH
    Posts
    144

    Phantom Black Metallic
    2004 GTO M6

    Well that may be the problem.. some people can get away with the descreen and some cant.

    I'd try to clean it up with some CRC MAF Sensor cleaner.. see if that helps.. Running rich is better than running lean, but your wasting gas..

  6. #6
    Maggie Blown 04 GTO AUSI GTO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Bradenton, Fl.
    Age
    52
    Posts
    276

    Phantom Black Metallic
    2004 GTO Maggie Blown

    chech air filter as said and then i agree with orion.....they probably added just a little too much fuel and at cruising speeds it will throw a code (i.e. low tps voltage, low rpm, 50 - 70 mph, 190 to 210 coolant)

  7. #7
    Junior Member Quick_burk_GTO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Liberal Kansas
    Posts
    18

    Silver
    2004 Pontiac GTO

    Same prob

    I have tried all that and changed plugs and wires. I changed plugs to ngk irdium but still have it and never have oiled my filter yet cause just put it on there. Do i need to take it to a shop maybe. Have a computer check tps counts.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. what do these codes mean
    By jb007 in forum General Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-19-2010, 07:32 PM
  2. codes
    By camaro00ss in forum General Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-31-2008, 11:14 AM
  3. no RPO codes
    By deepblackz in forum Camaro / SS
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-06-2007, 08:56 AM
  4. What do these codes mean. PLEASE HELP
    By ram air ws6 in forum General Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-23-2007, 06:34 PM
  5. New and I need some help with SES codes.
    By mczerwonka in forum General Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-28-2007, 08:46 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •