Results 1 to 8 of 8

ls1 gto threw a code. crank sensor: help

This is a discussion on ls1 gto threw a code. crank sensor: help within the GTO forums, part of the Vehicle Specific category; hey guys. my check engine light went on about five days ago. so autozone ran it to see what it ...

  1. #1
    HUNTER S. THOMPSON FAN Raoul-Duke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    BURBANK
    Posts
    1,120

    Unhappy ls1 gto threw a code. crank sensor: help

    hey guys. my check engine light went on about five days ago. so autozone ran it to see what it was and it said it was my crank sensor...i was wondering where the sensor is in the engine bay to see if wires may be loose or disconnected? also the car runs like it did before the light was on. (great). could this really be my crankshaft?? car has 28k miles. always changed oil at 3k with royal purple. dont drive it a lot and dont beat on it...any good opinions and is this a common thing? thanks a lot. your help is greatly appreciated

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Maryland
    Age
    31
    Posts
    224

    Arctic White
    2001 WS.6

    It is right above the starter. You have to pull the starter to get to it.

  3. #3
    HUNTER S. THOMPSON FAN Raoul-Duke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    BURBANK
    Posts
    1,120
    Quote Originally Posted by INeedLS1 View Post
    It is right above the starter. You have to pull the starter to get to it.
    ahh screw that. not when its 20 degrees out. thanks though man. i guess im just taking it back to the fuckin dealership again. im serious ready to trade this fuckin thing in..
    01 m6 z28 - lid / lt headers / 3' ory w no cats / flowmaster catback w 3' dmh e-cutout / nelson pcm tune

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,725
    Look up the code/diagnostics at gearchatter.com, they're listed for the 04 GTO. If you replace the sensor probably have to do a crank relearn procedure too like on the F body.

  5. #5
    HUNTER S. THOMPSON FAN Raoul-Duke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    BURBANK
    Posts
    1,120
    Quote Originally Posted by 2001NBMZ28 View Post
    Look up the code/diagnostics at gearchatter.com, they're listed for the 04 GTO. If you replace the sensor probably have to do a crank relearn procedure too like on the F body.
    yeah i read the recept that printed when we ran a diagnostics on it. its says its either the sensor failing, loose ir disconnected wiring, or the worse case scenario...im so fuckin sick of taking this thing to the dealership...if this is anything but the wire being disconnected im trading this car in for a ls1 f-bod....i dont care this should NOT happen to a car with 28 thousand fuckin miles. sorry man im venting, lol. thanks for your help

  6. #6
    HUNTER S. THOMPSON FAN Raoul-Duke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    BURBANK
    Posts
    1,120
    one more question. they fixed it i guess my sensor just wasnt reading it right so the dealership "relearned" it or something. did doing anyone of this affect my pcm tune from nelson performance?

  7. #7
    Junior Member pocket rocket's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    San Antonio, TX.
    Posts
    87

    phantom black
    2006 GTO

    hey get back w/ Allen @ nelson perf. because if they reprogramed the system that would cancel the tune extend i don't know. Hey just call and ask.

  8. #8
    HUNTER S. THOMPSON FAN Raoul-Duke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    BURBANK
    Posts
    1,120
    Quote Originally Posted by pocket rocket View Post
    hey get back w/ Allen @ nelson perf. because if they reprogramed the system that would cancel the tune extend i don't know. Hey just call and ask.
    yeah i got a hold of em the next day. he said it wouldnt harm the tune cause he locks em in..so id be fine. thanks though for your concern. trust me that was mine as well.lol

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question: I threw a code....
    By transamgirl89 in forum General Help
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 07-29-2011, 10:54 PM
  2. Threw a code???
    By hm3tocapt in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-30-2009, 09:30 AM
  3. Threw a code
    By ledesma54 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-18-2008, 12:18 PM
  4. Threw a Code
    By OnEbAdReDSS in forum General Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-09-2008, 01:34 PM
  5. Threw a code
    By uLs1a in forum Drivetrain
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-17-2006, 04:13 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •