Nero
    2006 gto

Last night in Providence...

Just a random rambling here. So last night (Oct 24) it wasnt exactly raining in Providence, there was more water in the air than AIR in the air. Im doing about 45 in the Goat on 95 south in Providence, when the minivan in front of me forcefully applies his brakes. He didnt jack on them, just came to a controlled, quick stop. I did the same. The guy tailgating me in an Avalanche couldnt. Im a very aware driver, so I could see him in my rearview. His headlights vanishes, and I looked to my right blindspot. I was face to face with his rear bumper while he slammed into the center jersey barrier. He proceeded to ricochet off, and I was then looking at his smashed in front bumper coming straight at my driver's side door. Thank God there was no one to the right of me, I had to swerve 3 lanes and ended up drifting for a half second to avoid him. BTW, I am the level BELOW novice when it comes to drifting....

Needless to say, his (actually, probably a her) SUV was messed up bad. I came away with no damage, but I wanted to throw up as soon as I was back in the clear. It was a mixture of driving experience, awareness, and pure dumb luck that me and my car are ok.

Take away what you will from this story. Im pretty sure the Avalanche driver wont be tailgating people anymore, but you never know.
    Last edited by PatrizioD; 10-25-2009 at 09:26 AM. Reason: to clarify that Im not a good drifter

11 years of bangin gears cammed goat's Avatar

Phantom Black Metallic
    2004 GTO M6

Quote Originally Posted by PatrizioD View Post