Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Do you tune on the street?

This is a discussion on Do you tune on the street? within the GTO forums, part of the Vehicle Specific category; ...or on a dyno...or both? I sure like putting my tuner in the passenger seat w/laptop and tuning on the ...

  1. #1
    Grand Imperial Wizard Sarge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Texas Department of Corrections
    Posts
    18,129
    Retired Outlaw Sum Bitch

    Do you tune on the street?

    ...or on a dyno...or both?
    I sure like putting my tuner in the passenger seat w/laptop and tuning on the roads versus a dyno only tune. I dont really care about numbers.....bottom line and the question I have...is a street tune more accurate than a dyno tune for performance?

  2. #2
    Senior Member Zboner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    cincinnati/northern ky
    Age
    31
    Posts
    9,045

    Black
    99 SS

    i think so, all my tunning has been done on the street with him in the seat watchin and tweaking

  3. #3
    Member BADBLUE02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Smyrna DE
    Age
    45
    Posts
    373

    blue
    2002 WS6 Trans Am

    Dyno tune here. I would say the dyno tune would be more accurate due to everything being in a controlled environment.

  4. #4
    Blown, Stroked, & Sprayed

    Ed Blown Vert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    San Diego, Ca
    Posts
    50,747

    Black
    383 Procharged & N20 Vert

    I prefer street tuning. Thats where I drive my car.
    Black 1999 Blown Convertible A4
    Forged 383, ATI D-1SC
    NX MAF Kit | 222/226 .585 115
    AS Stage II 6.0L FI Heads
    Moser 9" | 3.70 | Wavetrac | 35 Spline | Vigilante 3600
    548.0 RWHP - 563.8 RWTQ - 10# - D1

    666.0 RWHP - 734.2 RWTQ - 125 Shot - P1

    Black 2009 Escalade Hybrid 4WD
    Black 2008 GMC Yukon Hybrid 4WD (Totaled)

    Black 2013 Chevy Volt (Gone)

  5. #5
    Senior Member Zboner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    cincinnati/northern ky
    Age
    31
    Posts
    9,045

    Black
    99 SS

    dyno is for numbers man, street is where you want the tune in a real life situations

  6. #6
    txcosmos
    Guest
    Street is where you get the real life input, a dyno just can't do it.

  7. #7
    Member BADBLUE02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Smyrna DE
    Age
    45
    Posts
    373

    blue
    2002 WS6 Trans Am

    Ok, it seems that I'm the minority here. I'm planing to trash my MAF soon and I'll have to reprogram the computer anyway. I'm going to see what the tuner has to say. I'd be interested if there is a noticable difference between the tunes.

  8. #8
    Grand Imperial Wizard Sarge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Texas Department of Corrections
    Posts
    18,129
    Retired Outlaw Sum Bitch

    Mine is much quicker....I did not expect that much difference at all....but I'll be kiss my ass as the SD tune really made a big difference for me.

  9. #9
    Rollo Tomassee AKIRA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Outside the box
    Age
    37
    Posts
    2,887
    What programs are you using and what hardware are you using?
    LS1 Edit + laptop + knowhow = how much if you have none of this? (cuz i dont)

  10. #10
    Grand Imperial Wizard Sarge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Texas Department of Corrections
    Posts
    18,129
    Retired Outlaw Sum Bitch

    Laptop w/HP Tuners v 2.1.12
    Allen Nelson does the tuning...but I can tune fairly well myself from just paying attention over the years....I make tweaks myself from time to time....HP Tuners has an excellent forum...so get it and stat asking questions here and there....you got some knowledgable folks right here...
    This is my signature. It is mine. Nobody else has one like it.

  11. #11
    Blown, Stroked, & Sprayed

    Ed Blown Vert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    San Diego, Ca
    Posts
    50,747

    Black
    383 Procharged & N20 Vert

    HPTuners with EFILive. I do all my own tuning.

  12. #12
    Senior Member Zboner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    cincinnati/northern ky
    Age
    31
    Posts
    9,045

    Black
    99 SS

    Tracey Scott my tuner uses HPTuners

  13. #13
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    I'm probably the last of a dying breed. I use edit, an LM-1 wideband, and efilive on one car and just a predator on the GTO. I really have no complaints with edit. HpTuners does have some pretty nice features but not enough to make me spend the money all over again. I've tuned my car and my buddies heads/cam vette with really no issues with edit. Both cars run great so it's hard to justify the money again for hptuners. They used to do a trade in for your edit cable and efilive cable which I was gonna do and when I emailed them they had stopped doing that so I just stuck with what I have and what's worked fine so far.
    ps
    and I've only tuned on the street. I use a g-tech to measure gains or losses. My system probably isn't the preferred but it works.

  14. #14
    Blown, Stroked, & Sprayed

    Ed Blown Vert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    San Diego, Ca
    Posts
    50,747

    Black
    383 Procharged & N20 Vert

    Quote Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
    I'm probably the last of a dying breed. I use edit, an LM-1 wideband, and efilive on one car and just a predator on the GTO. I really have no complaints with edit. HpTuners does have some pretty nice features but not enough to make me spend the money all over again. I've tuned my car and my buddies heads/cam vette with really no issues with edit. Both cars run great so it's hard to justify the money again for hptuners. They used to do a trade in for your edit cable and efilive cable which I was gonna do and when I emailed them they had stopped doing that so I just stuck with what I have and what's worked fine so far.
    ps
    and I've only tuned on the street. I use a g-tech to measure gains or losses. My system probably isn't the preferred but it works.
    I also started with EDIT, but I upgraded when they had the trade-in option. Best move I made.

  15. #15
    Blown, Stroked, & Sprayed

    Ed Blown Vert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    San Diego, Ca
    Posts
    50,747

    Black
    383 Procharged & N20 Vert

    Quote Originally Posted by Kages99 View Post
    Ed tune mine!!
    Sure!




    Opps was that your car?

  16. #16
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Blown Vert View Post
    I also started with EDIT, but I upgraded when they had the trade-in option. Best move I made.
    Yeah, I wish I could've gotten in on the trade in deal. That was a heck of a deal. There are a few features that hptuners has that would make the switch worth while. It would be an easy decision if I was unhappy with edit but I can make edit do pretty much everything I need it to. Not to mention at this point the car is pretty much tuned and I just have to tweak a few things from time to time. One of these days I'll take the plunge but I don't see that happening anytime soon. That's one reason I bought a predator for the GTO and didn't just get it added to the cable. I figure the predator will still have some resale value when I do go with hp where as on an edit cable it's pretty much money lost.

  17. #17
    Blown, Stroked, & Sprayed

    Ed Blown Vert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    San Diego, Ca
    Posts
    50,747

    Black
    383 Procharged & N20 Vert

    Quote Originally Posted by Kages99 View Post
    I'm sure all the hell i raise i don't blame you. But do you blame me for responding back? Ahh don't answer that.. But can you really do the tune on my 99? What i need is that freaking EGR/AIR tubes SES Light code gone and die forever, never to return. And regular tune tweak... Nobody in town does tunes, can u beleve this shit? Closest is San Antone.... Let me know, or you were just kidding. If not PM me price On the tune,,,,,,,,,, Thanks Ed
    I don't really know how I can tune your car when I am way over here.

    Quote Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
    Yeah, I wish I could've gotten in on the trade in deal. That was a heck of a deal. There are a few features that hptuners has that would make the switch worth while. It would be an easy decision if I was unhappy with edit but I can make edit do pretty much everything I need it to. Not to mention at this point the car is pretty much tuned and I just have to tweak a few things from time to time. One of these days I'll take the plunge but I don't see that happening anytime soon. That's one reason I bought a predator for the GTO and didn't just get it added to the cable. I figure the predator will still have some resale value when I do go with hp where as on an edit cable it's pretty much money lost.

    The best thing abou HPTuners is the licensing and all the upgrades.

  18. #18
    Grand Imperial Wizard Sarge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Texas Department of Corrections
    Posts
    18,129
    Retired Outlaw Sum Bitch

    Quote Originally Posted by Kages99 View Post
    I'm sure all the hell i raise i don't blame you. But do you blame me for responding back? Ahh don't answer that.. But can you really do the tune on my 99? What i need is that freaking EGR/AIR tubes SES Light code gone and die forever, never to return. And regular tune tweak... Nobody in town does tunes, can u beleve this shit? Closest is San Antone.... Let me know, or you were just kidding. If not PM me price On the tune,,,,,,,,,, Thanks Ed
    BEst tuner around is right here in San Antonio. PM me.

  19. #19
    Grand Imperial Wizard Sarge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Texas Department of Corrections
    Posts
    18,129
    Retired Outlaw Sum Bitch

    Quote Originally Posted by Kages99 View Post
    Sarge you live in SA ?
    Sorta....Bergheim...about 30 miles north of SA. In between Austin and SA.

  20. #20
    Grand Imperial Wizard Sarge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Texas Department of Corrections
    Posts
    18,129
    Retired Outlaw Sum Bitch

    Quote Originally Posted by Kages99 View Post
    Just before San Marcus or after?
    Well hell, we are practically neighbors ha Sarge....... Oh Austin the city that never sleeps had many of good oi' times there back in the day 6th st. to name one.......... I'll PM you later with the info OK, thanks Bud..........
    Off hwy 46 between New Braunsfeld and Boerne..........

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Street tune vs Dyno tune?
    By FordStomper in forum Western Members
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-30-2008, 09:29 PM
  2. dyno tune vs street tune...
    By FordStomper in forum GTO
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-30-2008, 05:55 AM
  3. whats the diff with a full dyno tune and a street tune?
    By Justin23454 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-04-2007, 07:31 AM
  4. "Street Tune" Question.. Need answer quick!
    By SteelmanLS1 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-16-2007, 08:53 PM
  5. is G Tech good for test-tune on street if cant go to track?
    By greatwhiteZ28 in forum Camaro / SS
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 03-21-2007, 04:52 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •