98 Formula
    06 duramax

DMS intake write up

This was put on my brothers 06 GTO last week. Looks sharp. There is some slight cutting/drilling involved so it's not a direct bolt in but it's also not a ton of work. His IAT's dropped ~20 degrees but the weather has also changed a little bit so a few degrees of that can be attributed to the weather. The IAT's fall very fast once the car gets up to speed after idling. I plan on putting a log on here at some point showing how fast the IAT's drop after the car gets moving good.
    It's an expensive intake ( ~$600 after filters and shipping) so it's on the very upper level cost wise as far as CAI's go. I'm pretty well unbiased on the intake. It's nice but that price tag would probably keep me away. I'm also not impressed at all with the T piece that came with it. I can weld that good and I'm a crappy welder. Gravana is aware of the piece and is supposed to ship him out a new one although it's been a couple weeks and he's yet to see it. Gravana even stated at the time of order they were going to send him a new piece. There was some confusion on the order so they sent him this one for the time being so he could get it up and running which was nice of them to do. If/when he does get the new T piece I'll update the thread.

stock:

this is what he got in the mail:

here's a few shots of the T piece:

remove the push pins (yellow arrows) from the radiator cover:

cover removed:

remove torx bolts from air box(there's a 3rd one you can't see on the right):

stock box removed:

remove intake tract and maf. Dotted lines shows how we're going to cut it:

my brothers power saw ( you can't see just how crooked his blade was in the pic) We took ~1" off the MAF:

maf post cut. The center portion has to be ground/cut concave with a dremel. I cleaned this up some from the pic so it actually looks better than this.

98 Formula
    06 duramax

the holes on the new shroud need drilled out so the stock push pins can be used: