Results 1 to 10 of 10

diablo tune

This is a discussion on diablo tune within the GTO forums, part of the Vehicle Specific category; I just bought a pred tuner and need advice.Need a good set-up and explain torque/ man to me....

  1. #1
    footbrake racer racer426's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    antioch,tn
    Posts
    61

    silver
    2004 gto

    diablo tune

    I just bought a pred tuner and need advice.Need a good set-up and explain torque/ man to me.

  2. #2
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    the pcm will pull timing at wot to protect the driveline. That's torque management in a nutshell. Get rid of it. Some people will just reduce it but I removed it on both my cars with no side effects.
    If you're an a4 you'll see the most difference in the shifts.....the predator will give you some nice shifts for sure. On the engine side I recommend you read as much as you can on tuning so you have a good idea of what's going on before you just dive right in. Does the predator you have let you data log? I know the older models didn't but I think the newer models do. If it does then practice doing a few logs and interpreting what they mean and what they're telling you. Ask up any questions you have, the more specific the better.

  3. #3
    Junior Member 06MonteSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    84

    Laser Blue Metallic
    2006 Monte Carlo SS

    well, if he "just" bought it, and it's NEW, not used, it will be one of the newer U7193's anyway, which will allow him to save data logs... the new versions have been out/available since June 2008...

    if you did buy it used, you better make sure that the original owner has restored their original backup tune to their car, otherwise the predator will still be locked to their vehicle, and you won't be able to use it on yours... and also check what revision is on it - when it boots up to the main menu, there is a revision number at the top of the screen.. 1.xx, 2.xx, 9rxx... what is that number?

    after installing the diablo tune, drive for about 50-75 miles, then do a data log to check your average long term fuel trims and adjust your injector slope accordingly, to get your average trims in the 0 to -2 range...

    info on how to do a log correctly, what parameters to log, what rpm's you need to drive steady at, how to make the adjustment, etc etc can all be found here:

    http://diablosport.com/index.php?nam...iewtopic&t=917


    NOTE: you will need the power adapter and usb/serial cable to be able to connect your predator up to your PC in order to download the data logs from the predator... they are sold separately in their PC Interface kit... part #U7777....


    .
    Last edited by 06MonteSS; 01-25-2009 at 08:09 AM.
    06MonteSS
    2006 Monte Carlo SS -- CAI, Poly mounts, STB's,
    Flowmaster Super 40's, Custom DiabLew Tune!
    Email: 06MonteSS@diablewtune.com


  4. #4
    footbrake racer racer426's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    antioch,tn
    Posts
    61

    silver
    2004 gto

    Why is the speedo off by 15 to 20 mph?

  5. #5
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    did you change the tire size or something?

  6. #6
    footbrake racer racer426's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    antioch,tn
    Posts
    61

    silver
    2004 gto

    It asked for tire/wheel size and i input 275-40-17

  7. #7
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    do you have aftermarket tires? 245/45/17 is the stock size.

  8. #8
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    nevermind, if that's your car in your avatar those rims look aftermarket so maybe that is the correct size for you.

  9. #9
    footbrake racer racer426's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    antioch,tn
    Posts
    61

    silver
    2004 gto

    I'm gonna put the stock size back in the tune and see if that fixes it.those rims have stickers on the spokes that say gto.i've never seen them on any cars around here so they may be after mkt.

  10. #10
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    what size is on the side of the tire? that's the size you want to use.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question: Diablo Tune LOOK PLEASE!!
    By pmolina0436 in forum GTO
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 09-17-2008, 08:49 PM
  2. Help: Diablo Tune
    By pmolina0436 in forum GTO
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-27-2008, 06:04 AM
  3. Diablo tune or ????????
    By ROCKET1195 in forum GTO
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-20-2008, 09:45 PM
  4. diablo tune
    By kebie05 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-14-2007, 10:47 AM
  5. Diablo Tune
    By AFASTYZFR1 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-11-2006, 03:19 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •