Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

|||||||||||||||||||||||||
    04M6 GTO

Lightbulb 04 M6 5.7 Cam Questions

Hey Bros.
    I know I don't post much, and keep to myself usually - but I need some serious advise/pointers.

I have been playing with cam ideas for about 11 months now, and up until last night had no idea what I really wanted, or which way I wanted to take this motor.
    Some of you know, this is the second 5.7 i've gone through due to a nitrous misshap... Needless to say, I am trying to be much more conservative with this one, as I discovered you can't just bolt on and tune-in horsepower on these new model 350s like my father and I used to when I was growing up.
    Here's my situation:

I want to go mid/big with a lot of lift.
    I am really leaning toward this Patriot cam with 226/226 Dur. @.050 .585/.585Lift 112 LSA, but don't understand the limits of the 5.7.
    I have the usual street rod sh*t; MSD CPs, HP wires, bigger throttle body etc.

How will the computer react to that cam's numbers?

Will I need to flash it?

Will the exhaust temp be too hot (I don't have headders)?

I don't understand why the Patriot sales rep is concerned about the manifold temp if the motor's goign to run fat.

Anyway, I am all ears. Would really appreciate an elder's opinion/knowledge.
    FBJones, Sarge - I always listen when you guys talk. Help me out?
    I'm really concerned that I'm goign to f*ck the car up again.
    This will be my first cam in a new 350, but I know it's probably the same song and dance; pully > cover > chain > gear > retainer > cam : reinstall...
    Point is, I'm still a kid when it comes to this kind of new stuff.
    Thanks as always.
    -Marc

IBM
    04 GTO

have you looked at any of the cam packages the texas speed? if you want big go with the magic stick 4 the spec are on their website
    Last edited by derbs; 09-09-2009 at 05:01 PM.

04M6 GTO

Quote Originally Posted by derbs View Post