Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

red
    2002 Camaro SS

Raced an 03 Mustang Cobra

I am new to the web site so I don't know if there is a race section yet. But I had a little 1/4 mile race and back again with an 03 Cobra(2 races total). The owner of the Cobra was a friend of mine and just bought it on EBAY. I lost both ways by at least a car and a half. My SS is stock except for the exhaust and the Cobra was completely stock. I hate long posts but I will give more details if asked. I didn't think I would loose. I love my SS and thought it was really fast. I was disapointed. My friend was totally psyched. I drove his car and took the RPM's to almost 7000. I didn't know they revved that high. My RPM's cut out around 6000-6200?

My question is what cam, lifters, springs, pushrods, and rockers would enable me to get to 7000 rpm's and back down again without blowing up? I think I could've won if I had more rev. Any thoughts?
    Thanks,
    Jack

Black
    1999 Z28 Convert

Dude that cobra has a blower on it. You're ALL motor. I'd be very happy if I kept up like that. They have around 430 HP. They were underrated by ford. With a cam you should be able to get around 6800 depending on which. You'd be able to take him then too. If you really were that close.

2002 Z28 A4 NBM
    Sadly now demodded :(

I'm not sure I'd want to rev the stock bottom end much beyond 6600.

And a word from the wise: No matter how fast you are there is somebody out there who is faster than you.

Black
    2001 Trans am

And a word from the wise: No matter how fast you are there is somebody out there who is faster than you.[/QUOTE]

1966 Corvette Coupe

Don't feel bad... Termy's are nasty cars when stock... and with just a pulley/exhaust/tune they can push over 400 to the ground...

-me

Black
    2004 GTO