lt4ever

piston gaps as big as my front teeth gaps

Alright... for all you seasoned engine builders or for that matter anyone who's ever filed a set of piston rings... how dead nutz do you have to be on setting the appropriate gaps?

I just got my LT1 383 block back from the machinist who did all the necessary work (ie. internal balancing of rotating assembly, clearanced block, magnafluxed, blah-blah-blah). Well, I'm trying to achieve 0.018 clearance for the top ring and 0.020 for the bottom ring. I've never file fit a set of rings before... so I'm a little new to this process. I might be a smidge over on a few rings and one bottom ring is way over... at 0.027!! I'm not sure if I need to buy a new set of rings or if I'm being way to anal about this...

blue
    89 camaro rs

should be aight , 351 my dad and his buddy done , they filed the rings down like crazy he had like 215 pounds on each cylinder.

blue
    89 camaro rs

compression!!

lt4ever
    Yeah, i've heard that besides a hefty oil blow-by that will leave huge amounts of burnt carbon deposits on the top of the piston from the oil, that the cylinder may not hold compression as well. But I guess that's better than getting them to small and not filing enough, b/c too small of piston ring gaps will increase the piston temperature which could lead to detenation. But with too big of ring gaps it will lead to an increase in carbon deposit on top of the piston and can eventually lead to a decrease in combustion chamber size, thereby increasing your compression ratio. As it turns out, you can buy individual rings from JE Pistons rather than buying a whole new set. So, I bought a top and bottom ring, but it also comes with the oil rings and oil ring rails for $25.00 which I don't really need. Guess I'll refile fit that ring that's way over and be gentle with it this time.

LS1ROC