Giant Dicks Car Club Zapper2003's Avatar

2005 Ram
    1978 Firebird

New to optispark, whats the story?

Hey all, I'm a newbie so to say, just aquired a 97 Bird LT1 A4 etc etc. Been lurking here for a while, but anyhow, What gives with the optispark thing? I'm not so sure that im aware of what gives? Whats the story, what happens, why are they such a Pain in the A and why do people hate it so much? Links/stories appreciated

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/699166/6 theres a link to the thing.

LT1 Guy

Quicksilver
    03 Corvette Z06

Quote Originally Posted by Zapper2003 View Post
    Hey all, I'm a newbie so to say, just aquired a 97 Bird LT1 A4 etc etc. Been lurking here for a while, but anyhow, What gives with the optispark thing? I'm not so sure that im aware of what gives? Whats the story, what happens, why are they such a Pain in the A and why do people hate it so much? Links/stories appreciated
    the seals between the 3 pieces wear out and alow water to penetrate the internal parts. the water ruins the optical sensor the takes timing signals off the optic disk. the real pain is the fact that it is located behind the water pump. you have to remove alot of other things to get to it. they are also extremely sensitive to corosion on the conecting pins. minor corrion causes server signal degredation. and lastly when you start to have any miss fire issues like fouled plug or burnt wire the point system in the cap quickly becomes carbon tracked allowing for the spark to jump pins or to ground wich causes more miss fireing and so on. its really a horrible cycle. but on the other hand when they work they are bullet proof and give great voltage acruate advance and so on.

Black
    94 Camaro Z28