completely stock. So anyways, I'm looking for some long tube headers
    and a y-pipe that will either hook up to my stock catalytic or if I
    have to I'll buy a high flow catalytic too but I need one that will
    work with my cat-back exhaust system. Unfortunately I've been
    unlucky in finding such a thing. Am I a complete idiot for not being
    able to find long tube headers that will allow me to keep my exhaust
    system? I was just wondering if anyone has ever done anything like
    this or has any ideas or advice for me. I'm a bit of a noob with
    this I'll admit but I'm trying to learn.
    Any help or input is appreciated!

Member Since Aug 2000 LS1 Eddie's Avatar
    I'm pretty sure any decent muffler shop could make up a Y-Pipe for you. This should not make a difference in your choice of headers. In my case, I got mid-length's (which I love) with a Y-Pipe and had my cat welded onto it and hooked up to my Borla. Everything works fine.
    1995 Camaro Z-28
    Black/Neutral|A4 GU5
    Modifications:
    Borla, MAC Mid's, SLP Level 1 Suspension with Prokit, SLP STB, SLP CAI, 1LE Elbow,Phillips HID, Advanced Induction 180cc Heads/224 Cam,Built 355, Yank 3200

sunfire yellow
    1993 trans am

I have a 93 trans am, I have pacesetter LT's on with the pacesetter y-pipe. but you would have to move you cat. converter back. the y-pipe is alittle longer. I just took mine off, but if you have to get emissions, than you can just move your cat back alittle...good ground clearance also, had no problems once I got mine hooked up..got mine on ebay ceramic coated w/y-pipe for around 550.00

camaro_ss_97_
    pacsetter lt's all the way

sped
    the diameter of the collector on the stock catalytic is 2.5" right?

sunfire yellow
    1993 trans am

Yeah I think so, the y-pipe on the pacesetter is 3" but a muffler shop can put a reducer on it,pretty cheap...not a problem if you can take off the cat.

sped