Results 1 to 10 of 10

lt1 t56

This is a discussion on lt1 t56 within the LT1 forums, part of the Vehicle Specific category; im looking to install an LT1 and a T56 into my 69 camaro... but as much as i have looked ...

  1. #1
    live fast, die young.
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    santa ana
    Age
    31
    Posts
    141

    metallic blue
    1969 camaro

    lt1 t56

    im looking to install an LT1 and a T56 into my 69 camaro... but as much as i have looked (hours online) i cannot find a package lt1 and t56, only motors alone or ones with automatic tyrannys. so my question is how hard would it be to buy a t56 and an lt1 separately and attach them... will they just link right up? ive never done this kinda thing before so any and all help will be greatly appreciated. thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member 5.0THIS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    3,704

    red
    95 Z28

    If you get a T56 that was in an LT1 car, then of course they'll bolt together just fine. It wont just be a simple swap though into the 69. You will need different motor mounts, and your tranny crossmember will also likely need some work. You'll need to run a hydraulic system for your clutch. You'll need to modify the floorpan for the shifter. etc etc etc.

  3. #3
    live fast, die young.
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    santa ana
    Age
    31
    Posts
    141

    metallic blue
    1969 camaro

    Quote Originally Posted by 5.0THIS View Post
    It wont just be a simple swap though into the 69. You will need different motor mounts, and your tranny crossmember will also likely need some work. You'll need to run a hydraulic system for your clutch. You'll need to modify the floorpan for the shifter. etc etc etc.
    i know that ill need a lot of modification, but everything ive read stated that i can use my stock SBC motor mounts for an LT1 engine... is that incorrect, or did u think i had different motor mounts? thanks again

  4. #4
    Senior Member 5.0THIS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    3,704

    red
    95 Z28

    Quote Originally Posted by 69camarokid View Post
    i know that ill need a lot of modification, but everything ive read stated that i can use my stock SBC motor mounts for an LT1 engine... is that incorrect, or did u think i had different motor mounts? thanks again


    thats one thing I'm not positive on. could be

  5. #5
    2004 HEAD/CAM CTS-V 9t8z28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    doylestown, Pa
    Posts
    6,818

    SILVER
    2004 CTS-V

    Quote Originally Posted by 69camarokid View Post
    i know that ill need a lot of modification, but everything ive read stated that i can use my stock SBC motor mounts for an LT1 engine... is that incorrect, or did u think i had different motor mounts? thanks again
    YES! You can use the stock motor mounts! FACT!

  6. #6
    live fast, die young.
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    santa ana
    Age
    31
    Posts
    141

    metallic blue
    1969 camaro

    Quote Originally Posted by 9t8z28 View Post
    YES! You can use the stock motor mounts! FACT!
    sweet... i thought so, but the giant letter FACT has convinced me throughly haha thanks for the help. so fomr what ive understood and read so far, ill need ...
    1) lt1 for first gen camaro wiring harness
    2) new fuel tank, or high pressure fuel pump with return line
    3) a new cross member to hold a t-56 6speed

    are there any other major things im missing?

  7. #7
    Senior Member 5.0THIS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    3,704

    red
    95 Z28

    you could probably fab a crossmember if you have the means, but if not, they are out there.

  8. #8
    Member jasonisdn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    nc
    Age
    42
    Posts
    294

    red
    96 ss

    let me know if you want to buy a t56 used. i ordered a built t56 from t56rebuilds.com and am going to send mine back. if you can match the core amount i am getting back and pay shipping , i don't see why you can get it. 500.00 is the core charge

  9. #9
    SCPO - Retired joerockhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Mile High
    Posts
    2,517

    BlackCherry
    Bad Ass 67 Camaro / 2010

    I have a 97 LT1 and T56 in my 67, the motormounts where just fine, but the tranny is longer, so you will need a new hole in the floor, as well as a fabricated tranny mount.

    You will LOVE IT!!!!

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    1

    Red
    1997 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by jasonisdn View Post
    let me know if you want to buy a t56 used. i ordered a built t56 from t56rebuilds.com and am going to send mine back. if you can match the core amount i am getting back and pay shipping , i don't see why you can get it. 500.00 is the core charge
    Does your core tranny still work fine? If it does, I'll buy it from you.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •